The novel itself
Amavie
A book on Amavie is a manuscript you can also read as pages, with a cover, a blurb, and an AI co-author that plans for free and, on a paid plan, can write whole chapters. Handwritten text is not overwritten by a rebuild. The same account is a character chat, and the terms license your content for operating and promoting the service until you delete it.
Best for
Writers who want to publish a serial chapter by chapter beside a cast of AI characters, and who will read the license before they upload a manuscript they mean to sell elsewhere.
Pricing
Freemium. On 6 November 2026 the book-writer page said handwriting and planning are free, and that any paid plan can write whole chapters without spending Quanta. Explorer is $19 a month or $168 a year (the pricing page shows that as $14 a month). Creator is $49 a month or $468 a year (shown as $39 a month). Studio is $149 a month, website only, with no yearly price. Free is 30 messages and comments a day and 10 Quanta once. One Quanta is $0.10. Pictures in a book cost Quanta.
Checked 6 November 2026. Plans move. The vendor's page wins an argument with this one.
Good to know
At a glance
- Availability
- Country blocks: not stated. The operator is ANIMA AI 007 SERVICES - FZCO, Dubai Silicon Oasis, UAE. An account is 13 or older. Romance with an adult character opens only after you confirm you are 18, and after an age check where the law requires it.
- Platforms
- Web, plus the iOS and Android apps. One account works on the web, in the App Store, and on Google Play. Studio is sold on the website.
- Languages
- The pricing page offers the site in English, Russian, Spanish, French, German, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, Portuguese, Hindi, Korean, and Italian. Readers see a book in the language of their app. The original stays as written.
- Launched
- New: launched The book-writer page is dated 5 November 2026. The privacy policy takes effect 19 August 2026. When Amavie itself first launched is not stated.
- Independent reviews
- No independent reviews found as of 6 November 2026.
- AI training and retention
- Privacy policy, updated 5 November 2026: Google Cloud, Anthropic, OpenAI, and DeepInfra do not train on this content under contract. OpenRouter goes only to providers that do not store or train on it. Hedra may use de-identified data to improve its models. Amavie may use aggregated or de-identified data to improve the service. Account deletion erases chats at once. The account can be restored for 30 days.
New tools are checked again three months after the Checked date above.
In-depth review
Amavie review
Last checked 6 November 2026 against the vendor's public pages. Prices and features change; check the vendor before you buy.
Writer's Toolbelt review
Amavie
A manuscript and a reader in one account, with a co-author that plans for free and writes chapters on a paid plan. Pictures spend Quanta. The terms license your content until you delete it.
- handwriting and planning
- Explorer per month
- minimum web Quanta top-up
Full disclosure: I also build ProseEngine, an AI fiction-writing tool listed on the same terms as everyone else.
What it is
Amavie is a public site and a pair of phone apps built around AI characters. The page this review is about is the book writer at amavie.ai/ai-book-writer, dated 5 November 2026. It says a book on Amavie is a real book: a cover, a blurb, chapters, and pages. You write it with a co-author that plans with you, suggests the next paragraph where you stopped, and, on a paid plan, can write whole chapters from the plan.
The same company runs more than the book. The privacy policy, last updated 5 November 2026, names ANIMA AI 007 SERVICES - FZCO, a free-zone company in Dubai Silicon Oasis, as the operator. One account covers Amavie AI Characters, Sport AI, Joker AI, Trendme, Saga of Gods, and Amavie Games. They share a balance of Quanta. This review sticks to the book-writer page, the pricing page, the privacy policy, and the terms. We did not create an account, open a manuscript, or ask the co-author to draft. The character card for Lina, and the line "A new face. I always notice the new ones," are already on the marketing page.

Who it's for
- Serial writers who want readers inside the same product. The page says you can publish the first chapters and keep writing. An update to a published chapter waits in the draft until you press update. A series of books is an album in order. Books live on your profile, a character's page, a world's page, and in the Fandom tab next to comics and mini-series.
- Writers who already use the characters. The co-author is described as knowing your characters because each one has a personality, a past, a voice, and a world. A book about them keeps them the way they are. Making a character, or writing to the ones already listed, takes a free account.
- People who will write some of it by hand. Handwriting and planning are free on every plan. The page says a full rebuild does not overwrite what you wrote by hand.
It is a weak fit if you want a local file, a model on your own key, or a studio that never leaves the manuscript. The book is one feature of a character platform. It is a weak fit for a children's book even though the account minimum is 13: the page is about novels, stories, serials, light novels, web novels, and fanfiction, and the age section is about filters, not picture books. It is a weak fit if you need the company to promise the manuscript will still be there next year. The terms say the service is a live product, not a storage service, and that content may be changed or deleted.
Key features in practice
The list is what the book-writer page says. We did not press Create.
- A manuscript and a printed layout. You open Create and choose Book. Each chapter is plain text. The book lays itself out the way a printed book would, and you can switch between the manuscript and the layout. You set a cover, a title, a blurb, and how many chapters you plan, and you reorder chapters by dragging. Readers get pages they can adjust, a chapter list, their place kept, and "To be continued" or "The End" on the last page you wrote.
- Three speeds of help. Planning, including what happens in each chapter, who is in it, and where the turns are, costs nothing. In the manuscript, a suggestion of the next paragraph, or the opening of a new page, lands as a draft you accept or throw away. With any paid plan the co-author can write and lay out whole chapters from the plan, and rework text when you describe the change in words. The page says that chapter writing and that kind of editing do not spend Quanta. Pictures for a book do.
- Serial publishing. Publish the first chapters and keep writing. Readers do not see a half-finished edit of a chapter you have already published. Fan works about worlds that welcome them are shown on those worlds' pages. The page points people who would rather play a story than write it to a separate story generator.
- Translation for the reader. Readers see the book in the language of their app. The text is translated in the background. The original stays as you wrote it. The page does not list the languages you can draft in. The pricing page's own language switcher offers English, Russian, Spanish, French, German, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, Portuguese, Hindi, Korean, and Italian. That is the site chrome. It is not a promise that a manuscript in each of those languages was tested.
- Age rules on the same page. An account is 13 or older. The page says Amavie is not built around romance, that characters keep filters like those of children's services and Instagram, and that romance or flirting with an adult character opens only after you confirm you are 18 or older and, where the law requires it, after an age check. Public posts, stories, and moments never show explicit content. That stays inside private chats. Characters under 18 never take part in romance. Every character is an AI, and the page says Amavie says so on the site and in the apps.

Pricing (checked 6 November 2026)
The book-writer page prints the numbers in one section. The pricing page prints the same plans as cards, with a monthly and a yearly toggle. Yearly Explorer is $168, which the card shows as $14 a month and "save 26%." Yearly Creator is $468, shown as $39 a month and "save 20%." Studio has no yearly price. The book-writer page states the monthly and yearly totals and does not print the $14 and $39 equivalents. Both pages were read on 6 November 2026. A later headless visit to the pricing URL was blocked by the site's security check. The book-writer page still loaded, and its cost section matches the pricing page we had already read.
| Plan | Monthly | Yearly | What the pages include |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 30 messages and comments a day. 10 Quanta once, with no daily refill. Handwriting, layout, and planning with the agent. | |
| Explorer | $19 | $168 | 50 Quanta a month. Unlimited chat and roleplay, within fair use. AI writing of books and journals, and editing of characters, worlds, and cards, without spending Quanta. Video notes from characters, inside a monthly cap the page does not number. |
| Creator | $49 | $468 | Everything in Explorer. 500 Quanta a month. 20% extra Quanta on every top-up. Yearly plans still receive Quanta every month. |
| Studio | $149 | none printed | Everything in Creator. 2,000 Quanta a month. 30% extra on top-ups. Sold on the website. The pricing card says monthly only. |
One Quanta is $0.10 on the web and in the iOS and Android apps. One hundred Quanta are $10. The minimum web top-up is $10. Text messages cost zero Quanta. An image is 2 Quanta. Video is from 5 Quanta a second. Creating a character is 5. Voice replies are included on every plan, including Free, with no per-line charge. Bought Quanta do not expire and are spent after subscription Quanta. Subscription Quanta renew every month and do not roll over. The pricing page also lists larger top-ups: 250 Quanta for $25, 750 for $75, 2,000 for $200, and 5,000 for $500.
The plans are the same on the web, in the App Store, and on Google Play, except Studio, which the book-writer page says is sold on the website. Cancel any time. The plan stays until the end of the period you paid for. "Unlimited" chat is for what the pricing page calls normal, human use. Automation, spam, and abuse are limited by fair use. The page does not print a number for that ceiling.
Pricing at a glance
Billed monthlyBilled yearly
- Free30 messages and comments a day. 10 Quanta once. Planning and handwriting.Free
- Explorer50 Quanta a month. Chapter writing without spending Quanta. $168 a year.$19/mo$14/mo
- Creator500 Quanta a month. 20% extra Quanta on top-ups. $468 a year.$49/mo$39/mo
- Studio2,000 Quanta a month. 30% extra on top-ups. Website only. No yearly price.$149/mo

Using it as a writer
- Decide whether the book lives on Amavie. The product is built for readers inside the site: a profile, a character page, a world page, the Fandom tab. Export of a finished book as EPUB or Word is not described on the book-writer page. Check the vendor site if a file you can upload to a store is the point.
- Write the plan, and the words you care about, before you pay. Planning is free. Handwritten text is not overwritten by a rebuild. Whole chapters are the paid step.
- Price the pictures separately. Chapter text on a paid plan does not spend Quanta. An image is 2 Quanta, and a Quanta is $0.10, so a picture is about twenty cents at the printed rate. That is arithmetic from their price, not a bill we ran.
- Read section 5 of the terms before you put a manuscript in. You retain ownership of characters, prompts, stories, posts, chats, and media. You also grant a worldwide, non-exclusive, royalty-free, sublicensable license to host, store, reproduce, adapt, modify, publish, display, and distribute that content to operate, secure, improve, and promote the service. The license ends when the content is deleted, except content you shared publicly that others have interacted with, copies in backups, and records kept for legal or safety reasons. Chapters readers bought stay readable to those readers, without your name, in the last version you published.
- Keep your own copy. The terms say they do not guarantee that any content will be retained. Download is at amavie.ai/account/data, described as a ZIP of what the account keeps.
Strengths
- The free step is the planning, and it is named. You can lay out the book and write by hand before a subscription.
- The prices are numbers. $19, $49, and $149 a month, with yearly totals for the first two, and a printed Quanta rate.
- Chapter text is separated from pictures. The page says paid-plan chapter writing does not spend Quanta, and that pictures do.
- A published chapter does not change under a reader until you press update. That is a real serial rule, stated on the page.
- The providers are named. The privacy policy lists Google Cloud, DeepInfra, OpenRouter, Anthropic, OpenAI, fal.ai, Hedra, Cartesia, and Inworld, and says which of them do not train under the contracts.
Writer's Toolbelt editorial scores
Amavie scorecard
5.8/10
- Chapter drafting, as described6/10
- Price clarity7/10
- Privacy, as written6/10
- Rights, as written5/10
- Fit for a book you publish elsewhere5/10
Weaknesses
- The license is wider than "you own it." Ownership stays with you. The promotional and improvement license lasts until deletion, and public interactions can outlast the account. That is in the terms, not a guess.
- Hedra is the exception in the training paragraph. The policy says Google Cloud, Anthropic, OpenAI, and DeepInfra do not use the content to train, that DeepInfra does not keep it after the response, and that OpenRouter sends requests only to providers that do not store or train on them. Hedra, which animates video messages, may use de-identified data to improve its models. Amavie may use aggregated or de-identified data to improve the service. There is no switch on the book-writer page for that.
- Deletion is not instant for the whole account. Chats and messages go at once when you type DELETE at amavie.ai/liquidation. The account stays closed for 30 days and can be restored with Keep My Account. Reported messages can be kept 90 days after a report is closed. Backups of databases are kept up to 12 months. Chapters readers bought remain for those readers.
- The book sits inside a character product. The home of the company is characters who remember you. A novelist who wants only a manuscript editor is buying the rest of that as well: ads measurement, an X pixel on the website, and, on Android, optional Google ad measurement. The policy says those stay off in the EEA, the UK, and Switzerland until you allow them, and that the X pixel stays off when the browser sends Global Privacy Control.
- No independent review turned up on 6 November 2026. The sample lines on the page are theirs.
How it compares
- Amavie vs Owen Book Studio. Owen sells a one-time draft from a free story plan and names DOCX, EPUB, and PDF. Amavie sells a monthly plan, keeps the book on the profile, and does not describe those export formats on the book-writer page. See the Owen review.
- Amavie vs Magic Fiction Writer. Both walk a story toward chapters you can approve. Magic Fiction Writer's public page prices the work in credits and caps a book at 20 chapters. Amavie prices the account in dollars and Quanta and describes serial updates. See the Magic Fiction Writer review.
- Amavie vs NovelAI. NovelAI is a story model and an image model on a subscription, with stories encrypted in the browser. Amavie's book is stored so the service can show it to readers. See the NovelAI review.
- Amavie vs ProseEngine. ProseEngine is made by the person who runs this site. See the disclosure above. It is a fiction studio with a codex and scene generation. We are not scoring that matchup. Read both product pages, and read Amavie's terms on the license, before you decide.
Feature comparison
AI fiction drafting tools compared
| Feature | NovelAI | Squibler | Type.ai | Storysnap | ProseEngine | DreamGen | ScribistIQ | NovelCanon | Fiktion | Smut Writer AI | Owen Book Studio | Magic Fiction Writer | Amavie |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | YesLimited credits; the free credit count is not printed in the FAQ answer | NoFree first chapter only, about 500 to 700 words | YesAfter a 14-day Pro trial: 1 project, 3 chapters, 20 AI actions a day | YesBasic is lasting and free: 1 book, up to 10,000 words | YesNo card. 30 Lite and 5 Balanced a day. One project. No downloads. | YesFree story plan, no card. The manuscript is a separate purchase. | Yes10 credits a day, reset at midnight UTC. No card. | YesHandwriting and planning are free. Free is 30 messages and comments a day, plus 10 Quanta once. |
| Lowest listed paid price | Yes$10 | Yes$15.83 | Yes$8 | Yes$45 | Yes€8 | Yes$7.83 | Yes$29 | Yes$5 | Yes$14.99 | Yes$9.99 | Yes$59.99 once | Not listedReserve credits, a subscription, and a lifetime deal are named. Dollar prices are behind sign-in. | Yes$14 |
| All paid tiers have published prices | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | PartlyHome page prints Basic, Professional, and Premium. The terms name only Pro at $14.99/month | Yes | PartlyThree packages are priced. Extra AI past the allowance: the page says you see the price before you pay. That number was not on the page. | NoDollar amounts for the paid plans were not on the public page. | YesExplorer, Creator, and Studio are priced. Studio is monthly only. |
| Competes with ProseEngine (we disclose) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Verdict
Amavie has a real book writer, with a free planning step, a paid chapter step, and prices printed in dollars. The useful distinction on the page is the one between the words you type, which a rebuild does not overwrite, and the chapters the co-author writes once you are on a paid plan.
The terms are the other half of the product. You keep ownership, and you also license the company to host and promote the content until you delete it. Use it for a serial you mean to publish on Amavie. If the manuscript is something you need as a file, on your own key, with no promotional license, this is the wrong shelf.
FAQ
Is the Amavie book writer free? Writing by hand, laying the book out, and planning with the agent are free. On 6 November 2026, Free was 30 messages and comments a day, plus 10 Quanta once at signup. AI writing of whole chapters comes with any paid plan.
How much is a paid plan? Explorer was $19 a month or $168 a year. Creator was $49 a month or $468 a year. Studio was $149 a month, on the website, with no yearly price on the page. One Quanta was $0.10.
Does Amavie train on the book? The privacy policy says Google Cloud, Anthropic, OpenAI, and DeepInfra do not train on the content under their contracts, and that OpenRouter is limited to providers that do not store or train on it. Hedra may use de-identified data to improve its models. Amavie may use aggregated or de-identified data to improve the service.
Who owns the book? The terms say you retain ownership of stories and other content you create. They also say you grant a license to host, adapt, publish, and distribute that content to operate and promote the service, ending when the content is deleted, with exceptions for public interactions, backups, and legal records.
How old do you have to be? The book-writer page and the privacy policy say an account is 13 or older, or the higher age the law sets for talking to an AI. Romance with an adult character opens after you confirm you are 18, and after an age check where the law requires one.
Free guide
The 10 best free AI tools for writers
Join the Writer's Toolbelt newsletter for a short note when the shelves change, and get the free PDF guide.