Skip to the directory
For fiction and nonfictionWriter's Toolbelt

The novel itself

Musael

A workspace for the manuscript, the plan, and a codex of characters, places, objects, and events, with a timeline beside them. Quill is the paid writing plan and sends nothing to a model. Ink and Press add credits for checks, research, outlines, and a rewrite of a passage you select. The docs say a change lands only if you accept it, and they do not describe a control that drafts a chapter. Your own book needs a paid plan. The free browser tools are separate, and this review did not create an account.

Best for

Novelists who want the draft, the outline, and the world in one project, and who will pay for checks rather than for a model that drafts the chapters.

Pricing

Subscription. On 8 November 2026, with Yearly selected, the pricing page showed Quill at $15.98 a month ($18.98 billed monthly, $191.76 a year), Ink 1× at $23.98 ($28.98 monthly, $287.76 a year, 800 credits), and Press 1× at $48.98 ($58.98 monthly, $587.76 a year, 1,500 credits), in US dollars. The plans doc also lists Ink 5× and 10× and Press 5× and 10×. Those sliders were not moved. There is no free trial of your own book. A guided demo uses a sample story. The menus say 154 free browser tools, and those need no account.

Checked 8 November 2026. Plans move. The vendor's page wins an argument with this one.

Good to know

At a glance

Availability
Country blocks: not stated. The pricing page and the plans doc list US dollars and say those prices include tax. Checkout can show your own currency. The AI policy's note for assistants still prices the same figures in euros. The enterprise calculator on the pricing page said before tax. Terms: age 16 or older.
Platforms
Browser, plus downloads for Windows 10 or 11 (64-bit), macOS 11 or later (Apple silicon and Intel), 64-bit Linux, and Android 8 or later. The download page says iPhone and iPad on iOS 15 or later are coming to the App Store.
Languages
Changelog, 18 October 2026: the site and the workspace also speak Italian, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Dutch, Polish, Swedish, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, and Turkish. Dictation shows the spoken language. Musy shows an answer language before send. Languages the editor itself supports: not stated.
Launched
Launched not stated
Independent reviews
No independent review of the app was found as of 8 November 2026. SiftFox lists it, added 19 October 2026, with no comments, and calls the pricing freemium. That page was not treated as a review.
AI training and retention
Privacy policy (1 November 2026) and terms (28 September 2026): writing is not used to train models, and providers are not allowed to. AI policy (27 October 2026): Ink and Press tasks go through OpenRouter to providers that keep no copy. Quill sends nothing. A question to Musy in the docs may be kept by free-model providers. A connected ChatGPT or Claude account follows that company's policy.

In-depth review

Musael review

Last checked 8 November 2026 against the vendor's public pages. Prices and features change; check the vendor before you buy.

Writer's Toolbelt review

Musael

The manuscript, the plan, and the codex in one project. Quill has no model. Ink and Press sell credits for checks and for a rewrite you accept.

Quill per month, billed yearly
Quill per month, billed monthly
free-trial days for your own book

Full disclosure: I also build ProseEngine, an AI fiction-writing tool listed on the same terms as everyone else.

What it is

Musael is a writing workspace from Lucernel LLC, the Wyoming company named in the privacy policy of 1 November 2026. The public docs describe one project with six sections: Write, Plan, World, Library, Notes, and Versions. World is a codex of characters, places, objects, and events, plus their timeline. The app runs in the browser, keeps a copy on the device, and syncs when you are signed in. Downloads are offered for Windows, Mac, Linux, and Android. The download page says an iPhone and iPad build is coming to the App Store.

This review is what those public pages said on 8 November 2026. No account was created, no plan was bought, the guided demo was not opened, the apps were not installed, and no AI task was run. The pictures are the public pages. The editor frame on the home page is the page's own preview.

The pricing FAQ says a new account does not get a free trial. A guided demo uses a fictional sample story and does not start a subscription. A paid plan is required before you create your own projects. The terms, last updated 28 September 2026, say the same thing, and they say you must be at least 16.

The changelog page lists entries from 2 October 2026 through 27 October 2026. It does not state a launch date.

Musael home page with the headline Ideas live longer in a bigger world and an editor frame under it
The public home page, captured 8 November 2026. Log in is still in the header. The editor frame is the page's own preview. This check did not create an account or type in it.

Who it's for

  • Novelists and writers of long stories who want the draft, the outline, and the world in the same project. The AI policy's note for assistants describes that reader, and names Scrivener, Campfire, Plottr, and World Anvil as the products it sits beside.
  • Writers who will pay for a studio that can run with no model. Quill includes the editor, the plan, the world, continuity rules, and a style report, and the pricing page marks it No AI.
  • A weaker fit if you want a model to draft the chapters. The AI policy says there is no button that writes a chapter. It is also a weaker fit if you need your own book free. The free tools on musael.com are calculators, templates, and generators. They are not the workspace.

Key features in practice

The list is what the feature pages, the pricing comparison, and the docs say. None of it is a session in the app.

  • The manuscript. Acts, chapters, and scenes, with focus mode, goals, and version snapshots on every plan. The workspace guide, updated 27 September 2026, puts the navigator on the left and the scene details on the right.
  • Plan. A board or a list, with status and point of view, plotlines, a timeline, and story templates. These are on every plan.
  • World. The feature page says characters, places, objects, and events live in one codex, names in the manuscript link back to an entry, and events can sit on a timeline including events the reader has not been told yet. Relations are on every plan. Maps with pins are Ink and Press. A series, meaning several books in one project sharing one World, is Ink and Press. Books you already made stay on every plan.
  • Checks that do not call a model. Continuity rules you write, a style report of repeated words and sentence length, synonyms, and read-aloud with the device's own voice. The pricing page prices all four at 0 credits on every plan.
  • Checks and rewrites that do call a model, on Ink and Press. The plans doc lists brainstorm (2 credits a request), a research question with sources (5), a dialogue or style pass (5 per 1,000 words), tidy dictation (2 per 1,000 words), quick rewrite (1 per 250 words), a scene review (10 a scene), a continuity check (15 a chapter), an outline proposal (40 a run), a manuscript analysis (60 per 10,000 words), and a book summary with up to three visual cover ideas (2 per 1,000 words). Every task shows its price first. A failed task returns the credits. The AI policy table of 27 October 2026 does not list tidy dictation, quick rewrite, or the cover ideas. The plans doc does.
  • What "it never writes" means on the pages. The AI policy says nothing changes unless you accept it, and that there is no button that writes a chapter. The quick-rewrite doc, updated 27 October 2026, is a rewrite of a selected passage: Shorter, Clearer, or Stronger, shown word by word, then Accept or Discard. Longer passages use Polish in Musy. Musy, opened with Ctrl+J, can answer a question such as three ways a chapter could end and return a list to copy. Polish and Tidy can be applied into the scene, and one undo takes them back. Musy shows the text that will be sent, the answer language, and the price before Send.
  • Dictation. The doc of 27 October 2026 says the browser turns speech into text and no audio reaches Musael. Chrome, Edge, and Safari can do it. Firefox does not show the microphone. The bar can say On device, or the recognition can use the browser maker's speech service, Google for Chrome and Apple for Safari. Tidy, afterwards, is optional and costs credits.
  • Sharing. Every plan can invite an editor, commenter, or viewer, send a beta-reader link, and publish a story page. People who share the plan and its credits are 1 on Quill, up to 2 on Ink, and up to 5 on Press. Press adds publish approval, a team activity log, reader stats with a CSV, a publisher page, and a house style. Beta readers need no account, the features page says.
  • ChatGPT, Claude, and other clients. On every plan an assistant can start a project from a chat, add acts, chapters, and scenes, and save characters and places. The scenes stay empty. On Press, an MCP client such as Claude Code or Codex can read the manuscript and suggest edits that wait until you accept them. That client's own subscription pays for its work. Musael's credits stay on Musael's checks. The privacy policy says you choose Read and add, or Read only, and one project or all of them, and that revoking the connection stops it at once. Musael does not receive the rest of the chat. The assistant's provider handles what the assistant receives, under that provider's policy.
Musael features page headed Everything a long story needs, in one place, with cards for an AI editor, beta readers, and continuity checks
The features page, captured 8 November 2026. The three cards in view are the AI editor, sharing with beta readers, and continuity checks.

Pricing (checked 8 November 2026)

The pricing page says the figures are US dollars and that taxes are included, and that checkout can show your own currency. This check did not open checkout. The AI policy, in the section written for assistants, still says plans start at €15.98 a month paid yearly or €18.98 paid monthly. Those are the same numerals as the dollar prices. Treat the pricing page and the plans doc as the price list, and treat the euro line as a disagreement on the page.

With Yearly selected, the cards showed Quill $15.98 a month ($191.76 billed yearly, save $36), Ink 1× $23.98 ($287.76, save $60), and Press 1× $48.98 ($587.76, save $120). The monthly prices printed beside them were $18.98, $28.98, and $58.98. The plans doc repeats that 1× grid and adds the higher credit steps. Unused plan credits last 3 months on Ink and 12 months on Press. Bought credits last 12 months, are spent after the plan credits, and work only on Ink or Press.

Plan Monthly Yearly rate People Credits a month Unused credits
Quill $18.98 $15.98 1 None —
Ink 1× $28.98 $23.98 2 800 3 months
Ink 5× $58.98 $48.98 2 4,000 3 months
Ink 10× $98.98 $81.98 2 8,000 3 months
Press 1× $58.98 $48.98 5 1,500 12 months
Press 5× $88.98 $73.98 5 7,500 12 months
Press 10× $128.98 $106.98 5 15,000 12 months

The 5× and 10× rows are from the plans doc. The pricing-page sliders label those credit amounts. This check did not drag a slider, so it did not watch the card price change.

Pricing at a glance

Billed monthlyBilled yearly

  • QuillNo AI. One person on the plan. $191.76 a year.
    $18.98/mo
    $15.98/mo
  • Ink 1×800 credits, two people, unused credits kept 3 months.
    $28.98/mo
    $23.98/mo
  • Press 1×1,500 credits, up to five people, unused credits kept 12 months.
    $58.98/mo
    $48.98/mo
US dollars on 8 November 2026. The bars are the 1× prices printed on the pricing cards and in the plans doc: monthly, and the yearly rate shown per month. The plans doc also lists Ink 5× at $58.98 a month or $48.98 yearly (4,000 credits), Ink 10× at $98.98 or $81.98 (8,000), Press 5× at $88.98 or $73.98 (7,500), and Press 10× at $128.98 or $106.98 (15,000). This check did not move the credit sliders on the pricing page. The AI policy's note for assistants still says the entry price is €15.98 a month paid yearly or €18.98 paid monthly. Checkout was not opened.
Musael plan cards with Yearly selected: Quill at $15.98 a month, Ink at $23.98, and Press at $48.98
The plan cards on the pricing page, captured 8 November 2026, with Yearly selected. Quill is $15.98, Ink 1× is $23.98, and Press 1× is $48.98 a month. The monthly prices beside them are $18.98, $28.98, and $58.98. The enterprise calculator above this frame had loaded at 12 writers and $186 a month before tax. Those controls were not moved.

Bought credits, on the same doc, run from 1,000 for $15 ($1.50 per 100) to 100,000 for $1,020 ($1.02 per 100). The step this check also saw selected on the pricing page was 10,000 credits for $125. The terms say bought credits have no cash value and cannot be transferred.

Above the cards, an enterprise calculator for six or more people had loaded at 12 writers, Regular, 12,000 shared credits, and $186 a month before tax, on a 12-month invoice, in US dollars. The controls were not moved, so $186 is the figure on screen for that default, not a price this check calculated. The plans doc says a team larger than five is agreed seats, shared credits, and optional single sign-on, on a fixed term. The word "before tax" on that calculator does not match "taxes included" on the plan cards.

Cancelling keeps the plan until the end of the period already paid. When a plan ends, projects stay readable and exportable. Writing, syncing, sharing, and publishing wait until there is a plan again. Dropping from Ink or Press to a plan without series, maps, or the submission tracker does not delete what you made. Starting a new one of those waits for a plan that includes it. Refunds follow Link's policy and the law of your country. Link's policy was not read for this review. Link, Stripe's checkout, is the seller of record. The privacy policy says Musael does not see the card number.

Imports, exports, and the filenames

The pages do not use one export list.

  • The Quill card says import from Word or Scrivener, and export EPUB, Word, and PDF.
  • The comparison table says import from Word, Scrivener, Obsidian, Notion, and World Anvil, and export EPUB, Word, PDF, print-ready, and Markdown.
  • The import doc, updated 28 September 2026, also describes a Campfire DOCX, a Scrivener .scriv folder, an Obsidian vault, a Notion zip, and a World Anvil zip. It says the import reads files on the device, previews what will come in, and does not upload anything until the new project syncs.
  • The export doc of 27 September 2026 says Export .storyproject for a complete copy, and Export manuscript for EPUB, Word, or PDF. Account settings, Your data, gives a copy of what the service keeps about the account. Deleting the account removes the account, its workspaces, public pages, and uploaded covers. Projects saved on a device stay on the device.
  • The data-ownership page says the whole project is a .storyproject file and the manuscript is EPUB, Word, PDF, HTML, or text.
  • The privacy policy says each project exports as a .musael archive.

No file was downloaded, so this review does not say which name a button actually writes.

What the other pages add

The privacy policy was last updated 1 November 2026. It covers musael.com, the workspace at app.musael.com, the desktop app, and public reading pages under musael.com/read. Stories are stored to sync and to share as you ask. The policy says they are not sold and are not used to train models. Servers for the app, the database, and backups are named as netcup in Germany. AI tasks go to OpenRouter and the providers it routes to, in the US and EU, described as zero retention and no training. The exception is a question asked of Musy in the docs: free models whose providers may keep it. The policy says to leave personal details out of that question. Public comments, reviews, and published stories are checked by TypeSafe models, and unsure cases go to a person. Private projects are not checked that way.

Usage counts are anonymous by default, with no cookies. A Help more setting links the counts to an account id and records the workspace with text, fields, and images hidden. Nothing sends nothing. A browser that sends Global Privacy Control starts on Nothing. Word counts in the analytics are buckets of 50, 500, and 2,000 words, not the words. Deleting an account removes it from the live database at once. Backups are 30 days on the server and 90 days in an encrypted copy. Contributions you made in someone else's project stay under the name Deleted account.

The terms say you keep every right in what you write and upload. The permission you give Lucernel is to store, sync, share with the people you choose, and publish the pages you make public. That permission ends when you delete the content or the account, except copies other people already made while it was shared, and backups until they expire. The terms also say the service is in active development, some features are marked as previews, and a closure would come with at least 30 days' notice to export.

The free-tools index says the calculators, checkers, generators, and templates run in the browser with no account, and the menus count 154 of them. The word-counter page says its count happens in the browser and the text is never sent to a server, with a local draft you can clear. This check did not run a generator and did not read the generator code, so it does not say that every generator stays on the device.

SiftFox lists Musael, added 19 October 2026, with no comments, and calls the pricing freemium with a free tier. Musael's own pricing FAQ says there is no free trial of your own projects. The SiftFox page was not treated as a review of the app.

Writer's Toolbelt editorial scores

Musael scorecard

6.6/10

  • Story bible, as described8/10
  • Planning without a model, as described8/10
  • Chapter drafting, as described3/10
  • Price clarity6/10
  • Privacy, as written8/10
Editorial judgment by Writer's Toolbelt, not vendor data or user ratings. Scores are relative to other tools in this directory.

Strengths

  • The draft, the plan, and the codex are one project, and Quill is a real no-model price for that studio.
  • A task shows its credit price before it runs, and a failure returns the credits. The docs also show the text that will leave the device.
  • The rights language is narrow. The terms keep ownership with the writer and limit the company's permission to running the service.
  • Leaving is described. Export and delete are in the docs, and a lapsed plan stays readable and exportable.
  • The free browser tools need no account. They are a separate shelf from the book.

Weaknesses

  • Your own book is paid from the first project. The demo is a sample story. There is no trial clock to start.
  • The slogan is narrower than the rewrite tools. A selected passage can be rewritten, and Polish can be applied into the scene. What the pages refuse is a control that writes a chapter on its own.
  • The public pages disagree with each other on dollars versus the euro line, on which export formats exist, and on .storyproject versus a .musael archive. The AI policy's task table is behind the plans doc.
  • The enterprise figure on screen was a calculator default, and it says before tax while the cards say taxes are included.
  • No independent review of a session was found, and this page is not one. The scores are a reading of the public description.

How it compares

  • Musael vs Novelcrafter. Both are browser studios with a codex and a plan that can be used without a model. Novelcrafter's AI is a key you bring, including a local model, and it will draft from scene beats. Musael bundles credits on Ink and Press, routes them through OpenRouter, and documents checks and a selected rewrite rather than a chapter draft. Novelcrafter's cheapest plan on 6 November 2026 was $4 a month. Musael's Quill, on 8 November, was $18.98 a month or $15.98 billed yearly.
  • Musael vs Loreon. Loreon's editor is free and the checks spend prepaid credits. Musael's editor for your own book requires a subscription, and the credits are included on Ink and Press. Both describe continuity against a story bible. This check did not run either checker.
  • Musael vs a general chatbot. A chatbot can draft a scene and forget the codex. Musael keeps the codex in the project. On Press you can also point your own assistant at that project, and the suggested edit waits.

Feature comparison

Fiction workspaces at a glance

FeatureSudowriteNovelcrafterLoreonLivingWriterUnsloppyProsematterCreaderAuthorFlowsProsperoKudoWriteNovela StudioWriters StudioMusael
AI models included in the priceYes30+ models plus Muse & BalladNoBring your own keyYesCredits pay for Anthropic API runsYesIncluded; capped except on Pro + AIYesHosted catalog; spent as InkYesCredits call the vendor's API providersYesToken allowance on each planYesIncluded; routed through OpenRouter. Daily request cap: number not statedYesFree open models included. Paid plans add stronger models. Daily capsYesKudoAI credits included. Your own OpenRouter or Mistral key is optionalNoYour own Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, or OpenRouter key. Write-it-myself sends nothing.PartlyDirect is bring-your-own-key. The App Store edition sells optional hosted AI. Ollama is local and does not use that allowance.PartlyInk and Press include monthly credits routed through OpenRouter. Quill includes none. Extra credits are a separate purchase.
Bring your own API keyNot listedYesHobbyist and upNot listedNot listedNot listedPublic pages describe a hosted catalogNot listedVendor names its own providersPartlyDesktop bundle strings name DeepSeek, Kimi, or GLM keys in ai.env. The download page says local use needs no key. We did not install it.NoNo bring-your-own-key on the public pagesNoNo bring-your-own-key on the public pagesYesOpenRouter or Mistral, from Settings. The FAQ says no markupYesRequired only if you turn AI help on.YesDirect edition, for OpenAI, Anthropic, or Gemini. The App Store edition uses a cloud proxy and does not ask for a key.NoMusael's own checks do not ask for an API key. On Press, an MCP client such as Claude Code uses that client's own subscription.
Local modelsNot listedYesLocal AI supportNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNoDesktop page says Guardian's local rules run on the computer. A local model is not described.NoNo local model on the public pagesNoNo local model on the public pagesNot listedNot describedNot listedNot described.YesOllama on the Mac, and a self-hosted OpenAI-compatible server.Not listedA local writing model is not described. Quill sends nothing to a model. Dictation can say On device, which is the browser's speech recognition.
Story bible / codexYesStory BibleYesCodex with progressions and relationsYesStructured canon the prose is checked againstPartlyElements board: people, places, objectsYesStory Canon; you approve each noteYesCodex for characters, places, objectsYesCharacters, places, timeline, and typed relationships, extracted from the proseYesCharacter profiles, story map, timeline, and a Story Bible named on the pricing cardPartlyPrep phases: premise, characters, world, voice, outline. Not a queryable codexYesUpdates when you commit a beat: characters, places, items, eventsYesStory World: people, knowledge, places, objects, timeline, secrets.YesEight entity types: characters, locations, items, events, organizations, races, magic, and lore.YesCodex of characters, places, objects, and events, with relations and a timeline. Maps with pins are Ink and Press.
Series continuityYesAll plansYesShared codex across a seriesYesCross-volume checks; one bible for a seriesNot listedAppears-in tracking is per manuscriptPartlyPremium is pitched for a series; cross-book checks: check vendor siteYesHome page: book six keeps book-one decisionsNot listedDraft-against-canon checks; a cross-book series check is not in the sources we usedPartlyUnlimited stories, each with its own profile. No cross-book checker describedPartlyA continuity check is in the book tools. Studio advertises the strongest checker for it. A cross-book series check is not describedPartlyThe FAQ says chapter 30 is written with chapter 1. A cross-book series check is not describedNot listedThe page says chapter 23 stays true to chapter 2. A cross-book series check is not described.PartlySeries can group manuscripts. Continuity checks are described across chapters. A cross-book series check is not described.PartlyInk and Press can put several books in one project that shares a World. AI continuity is described across chapters. A single pass over every book in a series is not spelled out.
Editable prompts with previewPartlyVia pluginsYesCustom prompts and prompt previewNot listedNot listedNot listedPartlyReusable custom prompts; preview: check vendor siteNot listedNot listedPartlyYou can type your own refine instruction. A prompt library with preview is not describedPartlyYou can steer a beat and type a note. A prompt library with preview is not describedNot listedThree help levels per book. A prompt library with preview is not described.Not listedA prompt library with preview is not described.Not listedA prompt library with preview is not described. Musy shows the text, the answer language, and the credit price before a task is sent.
Editorial feedback toolsYesDev edits, line edits, beta reads (Professional+)PartlyWorkshop chat; advanced review marked plannedYesFindings cite passages; not a copyeditPartlyAI Analysis on paid plansPartlyHumanizer and proposal review; not a dev editYesNamed AI editors on the draftYesGuardian: continuity, prose, scene, suspense, and plotYesStory Analyzer. The sample notes on the page are the vendor's illustrationPartlyAI-habit checker and refine buttons. Not a developmental editPartlySuggest Beat offers three next beats. A manuscript report is not describedPartlyScorecards for tired phrases. A plot audit is named. We did not run it.PartlyA continuity checker for contradictions and timeline issues. A line edit or developmental report is not described.YesInk and Press list scene review, a style pass, continuity across chapters, and a manuscript analysis. Quill has rule-based checks only. This review did not run them.
Plan without AINoYesScribe, $4/mo or $40/yearYesEditor is free; credits only for agent runsNoEvery plan includes an AI allowanceNoFree still includes 36 Ink a dayYesEditor, imports, and exports are freePartlyBrowser Free includes Guardian and 100K tokens. The desktop page says local writing and local Guardian rules need no AI key.NoOne paid plan. A toggle can turn generation off. The price stays the sameYesFree plan, and a mode where you write every word. AI runs when you askPartlyYou type the raw beat. A separate no-AI price is not listedYesWrite it myself includes templates, tracking, scorecards, and exports.YesThe FAQ says the editor, worldbuilding, and export work without AI. Direct is $59 once. The App Store editor is free.YesQuill is the writing and planning plan and sends nothing to a model. On 8 November 2026 it was $18.98 a month, or $15.98 a month billed yearly.
Team collaborationNot listedYesSpecialist planNot listedYesComments and sharing; Free caps at 2Not listedTerms: stories stay private to the accountYesCo-writer cursors and margin commentsNot listedNoTerms: accounts are for one personPartlyBeta readers and messages. Studio is pitched for groups and classes. Shared editing is not describedNoShared editing is not described. Community Books is optional publishingNoOne license, one person.Not listedFamily Sharing is on the App Store card. Shared editing is not described.YesEvery plan can invite an editor, commenter, or viewer. People who share the plan and its credits: 1 on Quill, up to 2 on Ink, up to 5 on Press.
Free trial, no cardYesTrial length not statedYes21 daysPartlyFree editor; welcome credits (amount: check vendor site)Yes7 days on Pro and Pro + AIYesFree tier, no cardPartly500 welcome credits; card requirement: check vendor siteYesFree plan, no cardNoNo free studio plan. A structure checker on the home page needs no account. Eight-day refund on a first paymentYesFree plan. Google sign-in. No cardYes1 credit after email confirmation. The FAQ says about 10 simple rewrites. No cardNo$148 once. No free plan on the product page.YesDirect: 7 days, no account and no card, one Mac. App Store hosted-AI trials are on the listing; a card requirement for those: check the App Store.NoNo free trial of your own book. A guided demo uses a sample story and does not start a subscription. Free browser tools need no account.
Musael added 8 November 2026 (Quill $18.98/month or $15.98/month yearly, no AI; Ink 1× $28.98 or $23.98 yearly with 800 credits; Press 1× $58.98 or $48.98 yearly with 1,500 credits; no free trial of your own book; sliders for 5× and 10× were not moved). Novelcrafter rechecked 6 November 2026 (monthly still $4, $8, $14, and $20; annual still $40, $80, $140, and $200; changelog still 19 October 2026). Novela Studio rechecked 6 November 2026 ($148 once; the product page and the terms still say 3 devices; the 19 October press release still says 2). Writers Studio added 5 November 2026 (Direct $59 once for v1.x on up to 3 Macs; App Store editor free; hosted AI prices disagree across the product page, the listing description, and the purchase list). LivingWriter rechecked 5 November 2026 (Free $0, Pro $12/month, Pro + AI $19/month; no annual total on the page). Loreon rechecked 5 November 2026 (still $10, $50, and $250 packs; changelog still 8 September 2026). Based on each vendor's public pricing and feature pages. Novela Studio added 3 November 2026 ($148 once; up to 3 devices on the product page and in the terms; the 19 October press release said 2 devices; the shop said 27 templates and an Anthropic account). Creader rechecked 3 November 2026 (prices unchanged: Free $0, Pro $9.99/month or $99.99/year, Creator $29.99/month or $299.99/year; API access is on Creator, not Free; desktop Publisher 1.28.0 dated 24 October 2026). Prospero added 27 October 2026 (Free €0; Writer €2.99/month or €24.99/year; Studio €7.99/month or €69.99/year; the terms say VAT is included where it applies). AuthorFlows rechecked 2 November 2026 (Pro still $10/month or $96/year; no free studio plan; a structure checker on the home page needs no account). KudoWrite added 2 November 2026 (1 free credit, then packs at $3.50, $7.50, and $12.50; no subscription). "Not listed" means the vendor's public pages don't advertise it.

Verdict

Musael belongs with the novel studios that also keep a story bible. The plotting shelf is the right second home, because the plan, the codex, and the timeline are the product as much as the page. It is a poor place to look for a model that writes the book, and it is not a free workspace. Read the plans doc next to the pricing cards before you pick a credit step, and export a copy of anything you would be sorry to lose. The pages tell you how. This review did not watch that export happen.

Noted on 8 November 2026

The pricing cards, with Yearly selected, showed $15.98, $23.98, and $48.98 a month for Quill, Ink 1×, and Press 1×. The plans doc added the 5× and 10× prices and the credit-pack table. The AI policy still had a euro line for the entry price and a shorter task list than the plans doc. The privacy policy was dated 1 November 2026 and still said writing is not used to train models. The changelog's oldest entry on the page was 2 October 2026. No account was created.

FAQ

Is Musael free? The workspace for your own book is not. The pricing FAQ says there is no free trial, and a paid plan unlocks your own projects. A guided demo uses a sample story. The free tools at musael.com/tools need no account. The menus say there are 154 of them.

Does the AI write the book? The AI policy says there is no button that writes a chapter, and that nothing changes unless you accept it. The quick-rewrite doc does rewrite a passage you select, and Musy can apply a polish into the scene. Quill sends no text to a model. Ink and Press charge credits, and only after you confirm.

Can I use it without any AI? Yes, on Quill. The pricing page marks that plan No AI. Rules, the style report, synonyms, and read-aloud are on every plan and cost no credits.

What happens to the book if I cancel? The terms say projects stay readable and exportable. Writing, syncing, sharing, and publishing wait until you have a plan again. Bought credits wait until they expire and work again if you return to Ink or Press.

Do I bring an API key? Not for Musael's own checks. Those go through OpenRouter on Ink and Press. On Press, a client such as Claude Code uses that client's own subscription to read the book and suggest edits. You accept the edits in Musael.

Free guide

The 10 best free AI tools for writers

Join the Writer's Toolbelt newsletter for a short note when the shelves change, and get the free PDF guide.

Subscribe and get the free guide, “The 10 best free AI tools for writers” (PDF). Double opt-in via MailerLite. No spam, and your address is never sold.

  • Write fiction

    Book generators

    Amavie

    A book on Amavie is a manuscript you can also read as pages, with a cover, a blurb, and an AI co-author that plans for free and, on a paid plan, can write whole chapters. Handwritten text is not overwritten by a rebuild. The same account is a character chat, and the terms license your content for operating and promoting the service until you delete it.

    Best for Writers who want to publish a serial chapter by chapter beside a cast of AI characters, and who will read the license before they upload a manuscript they mean to sell elsewhere.

    FreemiumFiction
  • Write fiction

    Novel studios

    AuthorFlows

    A browser studio for novels: an outline generator, a paginated editor, character cards, a story map, a timeline, a Story Bible, and a Story Analyzer you run on purpose. The home page also has a structure checker you can use with no account. The studio itself is still paid. The home page says the manuscript is never used to train a model, and that you can turn generation off. The privacy policy and terms on the site say they take effect on 16 November 2026.

    Best for Fiction writers who want outline, cast, and a chapter editor in one browser tab, and who will pay before they can try a manuscript.

    SubscriptionFiction
  • Write fiction

    Novel studios

    Creader

    An editor for long fiction that extracts a world memory from the prose and checks the draft with Guardian. On 3 November 2026 the how-it-works page said quick rule checks run while you pause, and that deeper checks wait until you press Run. Drafting still waits until you ask. A desktop download, version 1.28.0 dated 24 October 2026, says the manuscript can stay on the computer. A 21 October browser snapshot on 230 words caught one of six planted contradictions and quoted only the word "eyes". The founder says Guardian is being rebuilt.

    Best for Fiction writers who want the manuscript and an extracted canon in one browser project, and who will test the continuity check on a chapter they already understand.

    FreemiumFiction