Getting words down
ScribistIQ
A book generator from New Brunswick, Canada. From a title and a premise it writes a short book or, on Pro and Ultra Max, a chapter-by-chapter book against a rolling story bible, up to about 100,000 words. Covers, narration, exports, a co-writing studio, and US/Canada print copies sit around it. The pitch is a finished novel in minutes; treat the output as a draft.
Best for
Writers who want a fast machine draft to rework, or who want to write in a studio with an AI that only changes text when they accept it.
Pricing
Subscription. Monthly credit plans in USD on 29 October 2026: Lite $29, Standard $49, Pro $169.99 (300,000 / 1,500,000 / 10,000,000 credits a month). The page says annual billing saves up to 20%; the annual card prices were not read. Top-ups are $29 for 250,000 credits or $429 for 25,000,000. A new account gets its first chapter, about 500 to 700 words, free with no card. All sales are final; failed generations refund their credits. Print copies are paid per order.
Checked 29 October 2026. Plans move. The vendor's page wins an argument with this one.
Good to know
At a glance
- Availability
- The about page says customers are in the United States and Canada and prices are in US dollars. Printed copies ship only to the US and Canada. Country blocks: not stated. You must be 18 or older.
- Platforms
- Web. Google or email sign-in. Mobile apps: not stated.
- Languages
- English only. The features page and the co-writing guide both say ScribistIQ writes in English.
- Launched
- New: launched The about page says it launched in early 2024 and the current generation of the product went live in 2026. The home page labels it a public beta.
- Independent reviews
- Valhalla Computers published a commentary on its ads and pricing on 14 September 2026. Slashdot's listing had no user reviews on 29 October 2026.
- AI training and retention
- Privacy policy and terms (22 October 2026): your content is not used to train AI, and goes only to providers that do not train on it or delete it soon after (OpenAI API; Replicate deletes after an hour). The policy also lists PostHog session recording and Meta, TikTok, and Google ad pixels that get a hashed email; opt out by emailing privacy@scribistiq.com.
New tools are checked again three months after the Checked date above.
In-depth review
ScribistIQ review
Last checked 29 October 2026 against the vendor's public pages. Prices and features change; check the vendor before you buy.
Disclosure: The person who runs Writer's Toolbelt also makes ProseEngine, an AI fiction-writing app that competes with ScribistIQ. This review sticks to verifiable facts and links its sources below.
Writer's Toolbelt review
ScribistIQ
A whole-book generator with a co-writing studio attached. Fast, priced in credits, and sold as a finished novel in minutes. Read it as a first draft.
- Lite, per month
- chapters max on Ultra Max (Pro plan)
- narration voices
Full disclosure: I also build ProseEngine, an AI fiction-writing tool listed on the same terms as everyone else.
What it is
ScribistIQ is a web app that writes books. Its about page puts it bluntly: "A book generator, not a writing assistant." You give it a title and a premise, pick one of seven genre presets (thriller, romance, science fiction and fantasy, literary, memoir, business, self-help) or describe your own, and it produces an outline, the chapters, a cover, an audiobook, and export files. Around that sits the Write Studio, an editor where you can write yourself and call the AI in for specific jobs.
It is run by InterContinental Digital Technologies Inc. from New Brunswick, Canada. The about page says it launched in early 2024 and the current generation went live in 2026. The home page still labels it a public beta. It writes in English only.

Who it's for
The marketing is aimed at people who have not written a book and want one: "From a single sentence to a 100,000-word finished novel", "Goodbye, writer's block", and KDP-ready downloads. The Pro tier is pitched at "serious authors and indie publishers producing at volume", with an allowance the pricing page sizes at 200 Fast books a month.
For a working novelist the more interesting parts are smaller: the outline you approve before any prose is written, the story bible, and the Write Studio, where AI edits arrive as tracked changes you accept or reject.
Key features in practice
The features page lists three generators, each with a fixed credit price shown before it runs:
- Fast writes a short book of three to seven chapters in one pass, for 50,000 credits.
- Pro writes five to twelve chapters (the pricing page says up to about 40,000 words) after you review and edit the chapter plan, for 300,000 credits.
- Ultra Max writes 5 to 30 chapters, up to about 100,000 words, one chapter at a time. The outline costs 50,000 credits and each chapter another 50,000. The 20 and 30 chapter lengths are only on the Pro plan.
The about page explains how long books are meant to hold together. Each chapter is written against a rolling story bible: your characters, places, and rules, summaries of the last ten chapters, and the closing passage of the chapter before. You can paste a voice sample of up to 4,000 characters for the model to match. You can also import a .docx, .txt, or .md manuscript of up to 4 MB and use Continue Book to add chapters.
The Write Studio has a story bible of up to 16,000 characters. Rewrite, Expand, Describe, Shorten, and Continue come back as tracked changes, and an Ask the AI chat answers questions without editing your text. A free account can write in the studio but cannot use the AI. Studio assists cost 500 or 3,000 credits, and a continuity scan costs 3,000 credits a chapter.

Around the manuscript, you get:
- AI covers from gpt-image-2, nano-banana-2, or grok-imagine, at 50,000 credits a variant.
- Narration in six voices, with a WAV download, at 5 credits a character.
- PDF, EPUB, and DOCX exports, plus a print wrap, with no watermark.
- On Pro, a Deep Manuscript Audit across twelve editorial dimensions, at 40,000 credits a chapter. The about page says it only shows findings it has checked against the text.
- Public share pages and a JSON export of everything you make.
Printed copies come through Lulu, as a 6×9 paperback (32 to 800 pages) or hardcover (24 to 800 pages). The print guide lists $39 for the first copy and $19 for each extra copy up to 300 pages, with $20 more for hardcover. They ship to the US and Canada only, there is no ISBN, and the copyright page notes the book was produced via ScribistIQ.
Pricing (checked 29 October 2026)
Pricing at a glance
- FreeFirst chapter only, about 500 to 700 wordsFree
- Lite300,000 credits a month$29/mo
- Standard1,500,000 credits a month$49/mo
- Pro10,000,000 credits, audit, 20 and 30 chapter Ultra Max$169.99/mo
| Plan | Price | Credits a month | What the page says that buys |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | None | The first chapter of your own book, about 500 to 700 words, no card |
| Lite | $29/month | 300,000 | 6 Fast books, or 1 Pro book, or 1 short Ultra Max book |
| Standard | $49/month | 1,500,000 | 30 Fast, or 5 Pro, or 2 Ultra Max books |
| Pro | $169.99/month | 10,000,000 | 200 Fast, or 33 Pro, or 6 full 30-chapter Ultra Max books, plus the audit |
Write Studio actions are capped separately: 100 Pro and 1,000 Fast a month on Lite, 300 and 2,000 on Standard, 1,200 and 8,000 on Pro. Annual billing "saves up to 20%", but we did not read the annual prices. Top-ups are $29 for 250,000 credits, or $429 for 25 million.
Read the fine print before you subscribe. All sales are final. A failed generation refunds its credits, but a finished one you dislike does not. Cancelling takes effect immediately and clears the rest of that month's allowance. The free chapter is the only way to judge the writing before you pay.

Using it as a writer
We have not run a paid book. Everything here comes from the official pages listed below.
The workflow that suits a writer is the slow one: Pro or Ultra Max, edit the outline hard, give it a voice sample from your own pages, then take the result into the Write Studio or your own editor and rewrite. The co-writing guide describes that route. The home page sells the opposite: one sentence in, a finished novel out, "KDP-ready". If you publish machine prose unedited, the fact that it is fast does not make it yours in any meaningful sense.
On rights, the terms are good. You own your inputs and the output. ScribistIQ takes a licence only to run the service, and it takes no cut of sales. On training, the privacy policy and terms (both last updated 22 October 2026) say your content is not used to train AI. They say it goes only to providers that do not train on it or that delete it shortly after (the OpenAI API, and Replicate, which deletes after an hour), and that one user's content is never used to write for another.
The same policy is frank about tracking. It lists PostHog session recording, and Meta, TikTok, and Google ad pixels that receive a hashed email. You can opt out of ad sharing by emailing privacy@scribistiq.com with the subject "Privacy Choices". The terms include an arbitration clause with a 30-day opt-out, and you must be 18 or older.
Strengths
- Each generation shows its fixed credit price before it runs, and the pricing page translates credits into books.
- Outline approval, a rolling story bible, and voice matching are the right tools for long-form drafts.
- The Write Studio uses tracked changes, so the AI never silently rewrites your text.
- Clear ownership, no training on your content, no watermark, and no revenue share.
- Covers, narration, exports, and print copies all in one place.
Weaknesses
- The pitch is "finished novel in minutes". The product is a fast draft generator, and the marketing undersells how much editing that draft needs.
- No refunds on completed generations, and cancelling ends your allowance at once.
- English only. Print copies ship only to the US and Canada, with no ISBN.
- Session recording and ad pixels are on by default.
- The longest books and the audit need the $169.99 Pro plan.
How it compares
Among the fiction drafting tools we list, ScribistIQ is the one most built around generating a whole book. Squibler and Storysnap also produce full drafts. NovelAI and DreamGen are closer to interactive story engines. ProseEngine, which I build, keeps the writer at the keyboard with the AI as a helper. ScribistIQ's lowest paid price, $29 a month, is the highest in this group, but it includes covers, narration, and print ordering that the others do not all offer.
Writer's Toolbelt editorial scores
ScribistIQ scorecard
5.8/10
- Long-form continuity, as described7/10
- Price clarity8/10
- Leaves the writing to you3/10
- Privacy, as written6/10
- Fit for a working novelist5/10
Feature comparison
AI fiction drafting tools compared
| Feature | NovelAI | Squibler | Type.ai | Storysnap | ProseEngine | DreamGen | ScribistIQ |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | YesLimited credits; the free credit count is not printed in the FAQ answer | NoFree first chapter only, about 500 to 700 words |
| Lowest listed paid price | Yes$10 | Yes$15.83 | Yes$8 | Yes$45 | Yes€8 | Yes$7.83 | Yes$29 |
| All paid tiers have published prices | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Competes with ProseEngine (we disclose) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Verdict
ScribistIQ is a real, carefully documented product with unusually clear credit pricing and good ownership and training terms. It is also a machine that writes books for you, sold with a promise that you can skip the writing. If you want a fast structural draft to tear apart, or an editor with an AI that only changes what you accept, it can earn its place. Read the free chapter first, because nothing after that is refundable.
FAQ
Is there a free plan? There is a free first chapter of about 500 to 700 words, with no card. A free account can also write in the Write Studio without AI.
Do I own the books? Yes. The terms say you own your inputs and the output, and exports carry no ScribistIQ byline or watermark.
Does it train on my writing? The privacy policy and terms say no, and that content is sent only to providers that do not train on it or that delete it shortly after.
Which languages? English only.
Can I get a refund? No. All sales are final. Only failed generations refund their credits.
Free guide
The 10 best free AI tools for writers
Join the Writer's Toolbelt newsletter for a short note when the shelves change, and get the free PDF guide.