The novel itself
Smut Writer AI
Adults only (18+). This tool is built for explicit adult fiction.
Smut Writer AI drafts fiction chapter by chapter in the browser. You pick a third-party model, and a project can hold characters, lore, and a running recap. Stories stay private unless you publish them, and the terms say you keep the rights to your content. The free plan is one project and chapters up to 1,000 words, with no downloads. Text goes to outside models, and some of those providers may train on it.
Best for
Adults writing fiction who want a chapter draft from a model they choose, and who will read that model's training flag first.
Pricing
Freemium. Free, no card. On 1 November 2026 the pricing page said the free tier is live: 30 Lite and 5 Balanced generations a day, 1 project, 6 of 8 heat levels, chapters up to 1,000 words, and no downloads. The cards opened on monthly billing: Basic $12.99, Pro $14.99, Premium $24.99. The page's plan data also has yearly totals of $119.88, $155.88, and $263.88, which is $9.99, $12.99, and $21.99 a month. The Annual toggle says Save up to 23%. Quill bundles: $9.99 for 160, $24.99 for 420, $39.99 for 690, $69.99 for 1,250, and $199.99 for 4,000. The terms say payments are final.
Checked 1 November 2026. Plans move. The vendor's page wins an argument with this one.
Good to know
At a glance
- Availability
- Country blocks: not stated. Operated by SWriter LLC. No country is stated. You must be 18, or the age of majority where you live if that is higher. Signing up confirms that. The terms say they may ask you to prove your age. Contact hello@smutwriter.ai.
- Platforms
- Website. Sign in with email, Google, or Apple. Mobile apps: not stated.
- Languages
- The interface is in 16 languages: English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Russian, Ukrainian, Polish, Dutch, Danish, Turkish, Hindi, Korean, and Traditional Chinese. A story's writing language is set separately.
- Launched
- Launched not stated
- Independent reviews
- No independent review of this product's current pages found as of 1 November 2026. A Sudowrite blog post uses the name and lists Basic at $9.99 and Pro at $19.99 with two models. On 1 November the pricing page showed Free, Basic, Pro, and Premium, and the about page said 57 models.
- AI training and retention
- Says it does not train its own models on your writing. Text goes to third-party models through a gateway; for many models it requests no-retention, no-training providers, for others the provider's own terms apply, and models whose provider may train are flagged in the model picker, so you can avoid them. No in-app training toggle.
In-depth review
Smut Writer AI review
Last checked 1 November 2026 against the vendor's public pages. Prices and features change; check the vendor before you buy.
Writer's Toolbelt review
Smut Writer AI
Drafts fiction chapter by chapter on third-party models you pick. Free to start. Paid plans add longer chapters and downloads.
- free tier, no card
- Basic per month, billed yearly
- Basic per month, billed monthly
Full disclosure: I also build ProseEngine, an AI fiction-writing tool listed on the same terms as everyone else.
What it is
Smut Writer AI is a browser tool that drafts fiction chapter by chapter. The about page, updated 31 October 2026, says you give it a prompt, pick a writer persona, a model, a heat level, and a chapter length, and it writes inside a project that keeps characters and lore. The terms, updated 11 October 2026, say SWriter LLC operates it, and that it is a place where adults write fiction with AI models. The footer says that by using the site you confirm you are at least 18.
The about page names three writer personas, Spicy, Pyra, and Onyx, plus No Writer, which uses the model's own voice. You can swap them while a story is open. The same page's FAQ says the picker lists 57 models: 5 Lite, 7 Balanced, 21 Advanced, and 24 Legacy. It gives Nemo, DeepSeek V4 Flash, Opus 5.5, and Grok 4.6 as examples.
This review is what those public pages said on 1 November 2026. It did not open an account, start a story, or buy a plan.
Who it's for
- Adults who want a chapter drafted in a project, with a model they choose and a recap of earlier chapters. The about page says a project can hold custom instructions, a world, lorebook entries, a relationship map, files, and auto-summaries.
- Writers who want the draft private unless they publish it. The privacy policy and the pricing FAQ both say stories are private by default. Other people see one only when you publish or share it.
- A weaker fit if you need a file on the free plan. Downloads are on Basic, Pro, and Premium. It is also a weaker fit if you are under 18. Signup confirms your age. It does not check an ID first.
Key features in practice
The pages below are the vendor's description. This review did not click them inside an account.
- Models in three tiers, plus Legacy. The Choosing a model tutorial says the picker groups them as Lite, Balanced, Advanced, then Legacy. Each row shows one price per scene. On 1 November 2026 the Lite rows in view were Nemo, Lunaris, and Gemma 4 31B IT, each at 0.6 quills. Advanced scenes spend quills. Lite and Balanced do not, until a plan's daily scenes are used. A locked model is refused. The tutorial says you are not quietly moved to a cheaper one.
- Quills are the Advanced credit. The pricing FAQ says every Advanced scene has a price you see before you send. Plan quills reset. They do not carry over. Bundle quills do not expire while the account is open, and the pricing page says they can be given as a gift. The plans tutorial says buying a bundle needs an active paid plan, and that quills you already hold stay spendable if the plan ends. Auto-spend is off until you turn it on, under Settings, Billing.
- Heat level is a control, not a separate product. The pricing table says free includes 6 of 8 levels, and paid plans include all eight. This review does not list the level names.
- A project is the long-story container. The create-a-project tutorial says instructions stack on top of the account-wide instructions in Settings. Notes on a project never enter a prompt. Files can be .txt, .md, .docx, or .json, up to ten at a time. A world can be attached to more than one project. Deleting a project does not delete its stories.
- Chapter length and memory follow the plan. The pricing table: up to 1,000 words on Free, 3,000 on Basic, and 5,000 on Pro and Premium. The page's plan data sets the input window at 17,000 tokens on every tier for Free. Basic is 16,000 on Advanced and 32,000 on Balanced and Lite. Pro is 32,000 on Advanced and 64,000 on Balanced and Lite. Premium is 48,000 on Advanced and 96,000 on Balanced and Lite. The about page says auto-summaries condense older chapters into a recap the model keeps seeing.
- Downloads are a paid feature. The download tutorial lists Markdown, plain text, an inline file with no prompts, Markdown with a model footnote, EPUB, and PDF. A book page adds DOCX. On Free the menu shows the formats and downloads none.
- Role-play is priced like a scene. Free includes 1 pass a week, up to 20 turns, inside the daily limits. Paid plans include it. The pricing FAQ says an Advanced turn costs the quills shown before you send.
- Sixteen interface languages. English, Spanish, French, German, Portuguese, Italian, Japanese, Russian, Ukrainian, Polish, Dutch, Danish, Turkish, Hindi, Korean, and Traditional Chinese. The languages tutorial says the interface language sits on the account, and the writing language sits on each story. Changing one does not translate what is already written.
- Sign-in is email, Google, or Apple. The sign-in tutorial says Continue with Google or Continue with Apple is the age confirmation: there is no separate box. The email form has a checkbox that you are 18 or older and that you agree to the terms, the content guidelines, and the privacy policy. The privacy policy says a Google sign-in keeps the email and the Google account id, not the name or the picture.

Pricing (checked 1 November 2026)
The pricing page opened on Monthly. The line under the heading said everything below is live on the free tier, and that you can choose a plan or buy quills. Three cards were on screen: Basic $12.99, Pro $14.99 (marked Most popular), and Premium $24.99, each a month. Annual is the other toggle, labeled Save up to 23%.
The yearly totals are in the page's plan data, not in the about-page FAQ. That FAQ states Basic at $9.99 a month billed yearly ($119.88 a year) or $12.99 month to month, then Pro at $14.99 a month and Premium at $24.99 a month. It does not print the Pro or Premium yearly figures.
| Plan | Monthly card | Yearly total in the page data | Advanced quills | Chapters | Projects | Downloads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0, no card | none | not included | up to 1,000 words | 1 | no |
| Basic | $12.99 | $119.88 ($9.99 a month) | 50 a day, 1,200 a month | up to 3,000 words | 20 | yes |
| Pro | $14.99 | $155.88 ($12.99 a month) | 80 a day, 1,800 a month | up to 5,000 words | 50 | yes |
| Premium | $24.99 | $263.88 ($21.99 a month) | 130 a day, 3,000 a month | up to 5,000 words | 100 | yes |
Twelve times $12.99 is $155.88. The yearly Basic price is $36 less, which is about 23%. Twelve times $14.99 is $179.88, and the yearly Pro price is $24 less, about 13%. Twelve times $24.99 is $299.88, and the yearly Premium price is $36 less, about 12%. The "up to 23%" label is the Basic discount.
The comparison table prints daily caps for the other tiers. Lite: 30, 120, 200, and 300 a day. Balanced: 5, 60, 100, and 150 a day. The line above the cards says Lite and Balanced are unlimited on a paid plan. The FAQ says a daily fair-use cap exists to stop automated runs, and that a person writing all day does not reach it. The table is the number. The heading is the slogan.
Basic limits a scene to 9 quills. Pro and Premium say any scene, any model. The Basic card's example is about 50 messages a day on MiniMax M3, or 7 on Grok 4.6. The Pro card says about 80 on MiniMax M3, or 4 on Opus 5.5. Premium says about 130 on MiniMax M3, or 6 on Opus 5.5. Those are the card's examples, not a full price list.
Custom instructions are 2,000 characters on Free and 4,000 on the paid plans. Memory is Standard on Free and Extended on the paid plans. The plans tutorial says free accounts can plan a book and get two chapter writes a week. Revise and Continue each count as one. The count starts again on Monday, UTC. Daily meters reset at midnight UTC. The monthly quill allowance renews on the day the subscription started.
Quill bundles on the same page, each with a Buy button: $9.99 for 160, $24.99 for 420, $39.99 for 690, $69.99 for 1,250, and $199.99 for 4,000. The page says they never expire and can be gifted. One FAQ answer still says you can add a bundle "once bundles are on sale." On 1 November they were on the page.
The terms, section 5, say prices are in US dollars and that tax may be added. Stripe takes the card. SWriter LLC does not see the card number. Section 6 says you can cancel in Settings, or by emailing hello@smutwriter.ai. The plan stays active until the end of the period you paid for. Section 7 says all payments are final. That covers subscriptions, renewals, upgrades, unused time, and unspent quills. A refund is discretionary, not a right. The pricing page also says there is no adult transaction on your bank statement. That is the vendor's line about the descriptor. It is not a refund.
Pricing at a glance
Billed monthlyBilled yearly
- Free30 Lite and 5 Balanced a day. 1 project. No downloads.Free
- Basic$119.88/year. 50 quills a day, 1,200 a month.$12.99/mo$9.99/mo
- Pro$155.88/year. 80 quills a day, 1,800 a month.$14.99/mo$12.99/mo
- Premium$263.88/year. 130 quills a day, 3,000 a month.$24.99/mo$21.99/mo

Using it as a writer
- Use the free tier to see the shape. No card. One project, chapters up to 1,000 words, 30 Lite and 5 Balanced generations a day, and no download. The plans tutorial says nothing you wrote on Free is taken away if you never subscribe.
- Read the model row before you send. The picker shows the price. The privacy policy says a model whose provider may train is flagged there. There is no separate training switch.
- Keep a copy if the file matters. Downloads start on Basic. The footnote export is the one that records which model wrote which reply.
- Cancel before the renewal if you do not want another charge. Access runs to the end of the paid period. The terms say the money is not returned.
- Delete in the app if you want the account gone. Settings, then Account, then Delete account. If you cannot sign in, email hello@smutwriter.ai from the address on the account.
Strengths
- The limits are printed. Daily caps, chapter length, project counts, and the three monthly prices are on the pricing page. The free tier needs no card, and the page said it was live.
- You keep the rights. Terms section 8 says you keep whatever rights you have in what you write, upload, and in the text the service generates. SWriter LLC does not claim ownership. The license you grant is to host, store, process, and display the content so the service can run, including sending the needed parts to model providers and to the screening and indexing services.
- The training sentence is specific. The privacy policy, updated 11 October 2026, says they do not use your writing to train their own models. For many models, including helper tasks such as titles and summaries, they tell the gateway to use providers that say they do not keep or train on what they receive. Models whose provider may train are flagged in the picker.
- Deletion has a button. Stories, worlds, and files can be deleted in the app. The whole account can be deleted under Settings. The privacy policy says a deleted item leaves the live service at once.
- Stories start private. Publishing is a separate choice, under a pen name or as Anonymous. The policy says they do not sell personal data and do not use advertising trackers. Analytics are hosted by them, with no analytics cookie and no account email attached.
Writer's Toolbelt editorial scores
Smut Writer AI scorecard
6.6/10
- Chapter drafting, as described7/10
- Price clarity7/10
- Privacy, as written6/10
- Rights, as written7/10
- Fit for a long draft6/10
Weaknesses
- Some models are on the provider's terms, and there is no training switch. The flag in the picker is the control. If you do not read it, the text can go to a provider that may train. The policy also says those providers' terms can change.
- Deletion is not the same as gone. Backup copies can remain until those backups are deleted. Usage, cost, and safety records may be kept after the account link is removed. For 90 days they keep a salted fingerprint of the email, and sometimes of the network or device, so one-time credits cannot be claimed again.
- "100% privacy" is a line under the cards. The policy is narrower than that sentence. Text goes to a gateway and to model providers. Stripe gets the email and the purchase. Error reports are stripped of writing, which is a real limit, and it is not the same claim as the slogan.
- Age is a confirmation, not a check. Pressing Continue with Google or Apple is the confirmation. The email form uses a checkbox. Terms section 3 says they may ask you to prove your age later, and may close the account if they believe you are under age. Nothing on the public pages describes an ID check before the first visit.
- No refunds. Cancel anytime is true, and it does not return the money for the period you already paid. Section 7 says that in one paragraph.
- The company has no country on the pages we read. SWriter LLC is the controller. The terms and the privacy policy do not name a state or a country. Contact is hello@smutwriter.ai.
- Two pages do not say the same thing about EPUB. The pricing cards and the download tutorial say paid plans can download EPUB. The roadmap still lists "Export to EPUB" as planned. The roadmap page says it is a short note and that the full detail lives in Discord.
- The about FAQ stops at the monthly price for Pro and Premium. Yearly Basic is in that answer. Yearly Pro and Premium are in the plan data and, the pricing FAQ says, on the card when Annual is selected.
How it compares
- Smut Writer AI vs NovelAI. NovelAI is a story model and an image model on one subscription, with its own text models. Smut Writer AI sends the chapter to a third-party model you pick, and it does not sell image generation on the pages read here. See the NovelAI review.
- Smut Writer AI vs DreamGen. DreamGen is a story and role-play generator with a scenario, and its terms say training on stories is off unless you opt in. Smut Writer AI drafts in a project, prices Advanced models in quills, and has no training toggle. See the DreamGen review.
- Smut Writer AI vs ProseEngine. ProseEngine is made by the person who runs this site. See the disclosure above. It is also a fiction studio. We are not scoring that matchup.
Feature comparison
AI fiction drafting tools compared
| Feature | NovelAI | Squibler | Type.ai | Storysnap | ProseEngine | DreamGen | ScribistIQ | NovelCanon | Fiktion | Smut Writer AI | Owen Book Studio | Magic Fiction Writer | Amavie |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | YesLimited credits; the free credit count is not printed in the FAQ answer | NoFree first chapter only, about 500 to 700 words | YesAfter a 14-day Pro trial: 1 project, 3 chapters, 20 AI actions a day | YesBasic is lasting and free: 1 book, up to 10,000 words | YesNo card. 30 Lite and 5 Balanced a day. One project. No downloads. | YesFree story plan, no card. The manuscript is a separate purchase. | Yes10 credits a day, reset at midnight UTC. No card. | YesHandwriting and planning are free. Free is 30 messages and comments a day, plus 10 Quanta once. |
| Lowest listed paid price | Yes$10 | Yes$15.83 | Yes$8 | Yes$45 | Yes€8 | Yes$7.83 | Yes$29 | Yes$5 | Yes$14.99 | Yes$9.99 | Yes$59.99 once | Not listedReserve credits, a subscription, and a lifetime deal are named. Dollar prices are behind sign-in. | Yes$14 |
| All paid tiers have published prices | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | PartlyHome page prints Basic, Professional, and Premium. The terms name only Pro at $14.99/month | Yes | PartlyThree packages are priced. Extra AI past the allowance: the page says you see the price before you pay. That number was not on the page. | NoDollar amounts for the paid plans were not on the public page. | YesExplorer, Creator, and Studio are priced. Studio is monthly only. |
| Competes with ProseEngine (we disclose) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Verdict
Smut Writer AI is a chapter drafter for adults, with a free tier and a picker of outside models. On 1 November 2026 the monthly cards were $12.99, $14.99, and $24.99, and the page data put the yearly rates at $9.99, $12.99, and $21.99 a month. You keep the rights in section 8. The privacy policy says the company does not train its own models on your writing, and it tells you to avoid the models it flags. There is no switch that covers every provider. Payments are final. The operator is SWriter LLC, and the pages do not say where that company is.
Read the model row, and keep a download if you pay. If you wanted a general manuscript editor with no adult framing, this is the wrong shelf.
FAQ
Is Smut Writer AI free? Yes, to start, with no card. The pricing page on 1 November 2026 said the free tier was live: 30 Lite and 5 Balanced generations a day, 1 project, 6 of 8 heat levels, and chapters up to 1,000 words. Downloads are not included. The plans tutorial says Free does not expire.
How much are the paid plans? The cards opened on monthly billing: Basic $12.99, Pro $14.99, Premium $24.99. The page's plan data also has yearly totals of $119.88, $155.88, and $263.88, which is $9.99, $12.99, and $21.99 a month. The Annual toggle says Save up to 23%. Quill bundles were $9.99, $24.99, $39.99, $69.99, and $199.99. The terms say prices are in US dollars, tax may be added, and payments are final.
Does Smut Writer AI train on my writing? The privacy policy says they do not use your writing to train their own models. Text goes to third-party models through a gateway. For many models they request providers that say they do not keep or train on it. For the others, the provider's terms apply, and a model whose provider may train is flagged in the picker. There is no in-app training toggle.
Who owns the story? Terms section 8 says you keep the rights in what you write, upload, and in the generated text. You grant a license to run the service. Publishing also lets them show the story and lets other members read it and fork it into their own draft. Unpublishing removes the original from the library. Copies already made stay with those members.
Who can use it? The terms say you must be at least 18, or the age of majority where you live if that is higher. Signing up with Google or Apple confirms that by pressing the button. The email form uses a checkbox. They may ask you to prove your age later. Section 9 bans sexual content involving minors and says every message is screened for that category before it reaches a model.
Who runs Smut Writer AI? SWriter LLC. The terms and the privacy policy do not name a country. Contact, deletion if you cannot sign in, and complaints go to hello@smutwriter.ai. Country blocks are not stated. Sign-in is email, Google, or Apple.
Free guide
The 10 best free AI tools for writers
Join the Writer's Toolbelt newsletter for a short note when the shelves change, and get the free PDF guide.