The novel itself
Writers Studio
A native Mac fiction studio: a manuscript editor, a worldbuilding dashboard, and continuity checks, with AI you point at your own key, at Ollama, or at an optional App Store subscription. Direct is $59 once for version 1.x. The App Store app is free, and the hosted-AI prices on the vendor page, the listing description, and the purchase list do not agree. Manuscripts stay on the Mac. This review did not install the app.
Best for
Fiction writers on macOS 15 or later who want the draft and the story bible in one local app, and who will choose the model themselves.
Pricing
Freemium. On 5 November 2026 the product page priced Direct at $59 once for the v1.x lifecycle, on up to 3 Macs, with a 7-day trial and no card, and a 30-day refund. The Mac App Store edition is free. That listing's description says hosted AI is Basic at $9.99/month (400 credits, 3-day trial) or Pro at $29.99/month (800 credits, 7-day trial). The same listing's in-app purchase list shows Basic monthly $9.99, Pro monthly $19.99, and Premium monthly $49.99, plus annuals and credit packs at $2.99, $5.99, and $9.99. The product page says $9.99 or $29.99 a month. Those public prices do not match. Confirm the hosted plan in the App Store before you subscribe.
Checked 5 November 2026. Plans move. The vendor's page wins an argument with this one.
Good to know
At a glance
- Availability
- Country blocks: not stated. The 1.4.0 App Store note says cloud AI may vary by plan, region, and provider. Seller on the US listing: Joshua Cavell. Privacy policy: not directed to children under 13. The App Store age rating is 4+.
- Platforms
- Mac on macOS 15 or later. Direct activates on up to 3 Macs. The US App Store listing also offers iPhone (iOS 17 or later), iPad (iPadOS 17 or later), and Apple Vision (visionOS 1 or later).
- Languages
- The US App Store listing lists English. Languages a connected model can write in: not stated.
- Launched
- New: launched June 2026
- Independent reviews
- The Novel Kit published a review of the public pages. It says prices were last checked in 2026 and does not give a day. The US App Store listing says there are not enough ratings to show an overview.
- AI training and retention
- Privacy policy, updated 4 September 2026: manuscripts stay on the Mac. Direct requests go to your provider and are not stored by LiteStep. App Store cloud requests are not logged; only token counts are kept. The policy does not say whether those providers train on prompts. The product page says the manuscript is not training data.
New tools are checked again three months after the Checked date above.
In-depth review
Writers Studio review
Last checked 5 November 2026 against the vendor's public pages. Prices and features change; check the vendor before you buy.
Writer's Toolbelt review
Writers Studio
A Mac fiction studio. Direct is $59 once and uses your own key. The App Store app is free, and its hosted-AI prices do not agree with each other.
- Direct, once, for v1.x
- day Direct trial, no card
- Macs on a Direct license
Full disclosure: I also build ProseEngine, an AI fiction-writing tool listed on the same terms as everyone else.
What it is
Writers Studio is a native Mac app for fiction. The product page's line is that the manuscript, the worldbuilding, and the AI stay in one place, so you are not pasting lore back into a chat tab. You can draft with no model at all. If you turn a model on, Direct sends the request to a key you supply, or to Ollama, or to a server you run. The Mac App Store edition can send it through LiteStep's proxy, on a subscription.
This review is what the public pages, the terms, the privacy policy, and the US App Store listing said on 5 November 2026. We did not install the app, start the trial, connect a key, or run a continuity check. The manuscript pictures on the product page are the vendor's. The page calls them real in-app screenshots.
The US listing names the seller as Joshua Cavell. The product page says he built it at LiteStep, for his wife, after a 250,000-word draft turned out to be three books. Treat the word count as his account. The press kit says the app was a solo project over 18 months. Support is support@litestep.com. The privacy policy and the terms were both last updated 4 September 2026.
The launch post is dated 13 June 2026. The App Store version history lists 1.0.2 on Jun 14, then 1.2.1 on Jun 23, 1.3.3 on Jul 18, 1.4.0 on Jul 28, and 1.4.1 on Aug 19. Those month-and-day lines sit in one history that starts at the June launch, so this review reads them as 2026. The current version on the listing is 1.4.1. Its notes say it clarifies AI subscription allowances and says telemetry excludes manuscript content, titles, and prompts.

Who it's for
- Fiction writers on a recent Mac who want the draft and the notes in the same app. The press kit and the pricing card say macOS 15 or later.
- Writers who want to choose the model, including a local one. Direct takes OpenAI, Anthropic, or Gemini keys. Both editions can use Ollama or a self-hosted OpenAI-compatible server.
- A weaker fit on Windows, on the web, or if you want one published price for hosted AI. The hosted numbers disagree, and that is set out below. It is also a weaker fit if you need a checker that reads book two against book one. The pages describe checks across chapters. A cross-book series check is not described.
The June launch post said an iOS build had been submitted and was pending. The US listing on 5 November offers iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Apple Vision. Version 1.2.1's note says it improves the mobile writing workspace. Direct's terms are still a license for Macs you own or control, up to three.
Key features in practice
The list is what the product page, the press kit, the terms, and the App Store description say. None of it is a session in the app.
- The editor, without a model. Rich text, chapters, word-count targets, and a lifecycle the product page names as Planning, Draft, Revision, Final, and Archived. The FAQ says you can draft, organize worldbuilding, keep notes, manage structure, and export without setting up AI. Paid tiers are for hosted AI credits. They do not gate the core writing workflow.
- A story dashboard. The product page lists eight entity types: characters, locations, items, events, organizations, races, magic, and lore, plus relationship tracking and timeline events. The press kit says the app can propose profiles from the prose for you to accept. The App Store description also lists twelve worldbuilding categories, including geography, cultures, factions, history, and technology. Eight entity types and twelve categories are both on official pages. They are not the same count.
- Continuity. The product page says a pass looks for contradictions, timeline issues, and drifting details, including changed descriptions and renamed characters. The App Store description adds attribute conflicts and location impossibilities. Neither page says a finding quotes the passage. Neither page says the check runs across the books of a series. Series support, on the product page, is grouping related manuscripts.
- What the model is asked to do, on the App Store description. Improve dialogue, expand description, offer alternative phrasing, analyze pacing, develop characters, find plot holes, continue a scene, and summarize. Conciseness, clarity, and formality are named as text-refinement tools. The product page's comparison table says the assistant keeps story context, unlike a chat that resets.
- Where the request goes. Direct: your key, straight to OpenAI, Anthropic, or Google, or straight to Ollama or a server URL you enter. The privacy policy says LiteStep does not relay or store those requests. App Store managed cloud AI: an encrypted Cloudflare proxy, and the policy says the content is not logged. Only token counts are tracked, for billing. Self-hosted requests in either edition do not use the cloud allowance.
- Export. The product page and the press kit list eight formats: DOCX, PDF, EPUB, Final Draft (.fdx), Markdown, HTML, RTF, and plain text. The App Store description's free-features line names PDF and DOCX. It does not repeat the other six. If you need Fountain's neighbour, the .fdx file, confirm it is in the build you actually download.
- Offline. The editor, the dashboard, and export work without a network, the FAQ says. AI needs a reachable server, unless Ollama is on the same Mac. Direct's terms say that if the license server is gone for good, an already activated app keeps working. After the seven-day trial ends, local projects stay readable and exportable. Editing and AI then need a purchased license.

Pricing (checked 5 November 2026)
Two editions. The Direct numbers are consistent. The hosted-AI numbers are not.
| Offer | What the page says | What else is on the record |
|---|---|---|
| Direct | $59 once, for v1.x, on up to 3 Macs | 7-day full-use trial, no account, no email, and no card, per the terms. One trial per Mac. 30-day refund by email to support@litestep.com. LemonSqueezy takes the payment. |
| App Store app | Free download | Editor, worldbuilding, export, Ollama, and iCloud sync. Family Sharing is on the card. Apple bills any subscription. |
| Hosted AI, product page | $9.99/month or $29.99/month | The card calls these Basic and Pro, "for hosted AI allowance." It does not print a credit count. |
| Hosted AI, listing description | Basic $9.99/month, 400 credits, 3-day trial. Pro $29.99/month, 800 credits, 7-day trial. | Same catalog of models on both, the description says. Top-ups are mentioned, without prices, in that paragraph. |
| Hosted AI, purchase list on the same listing | Basic monthly $9.99. Pro monthly $19.99. Premium monthly $49.99. Basic annual $79.99. Pro annual $159.99. Premium annual $399.99. Credit packs $2.99, $5.99, and $9.99. | Pro monthly on this list is $19.99, not the $29.99 in the description above it. Premium is a third tier the product page does not name. |
Pricing at a glance
- Directv1.x on up to 3 Macs. 7-day trial, no card. 30-day refund.
$59 once
- App StoreEditor and worldbuilding. Hosted AI is a separate purchase.Free

The terms say App Store subscription tiers, prices, and limits are displayed in the app, and that refunds for those purchases go to Apple. "Lifetime" in the Direct terms means the commercial life of version 1.x. A 2.0 may be a separate purchase. The terms say v1 keeps working. They do not print a price for v2.
Direct cloud use is billed by OpenAI, Anthropic, or Google, on your account. The product page does not print those providers' rates. Ollama does not spend a Writers Studio allowance.
Using it as a writer
- Start the Direct trial on a chapter you already know is wrong. The terms say it asks for no card. Run the continuity check against a detail you planted. This review did not, so the finding quality is still the vendor's claim.
- Read the three hosted prices before you pick the App Store edition for the model. $9.99, $19.99, $29.99, and $49.99 are all on official pages. The purchase list is the one next to the buy buttons. The description and the product page disagree with parts of it.
- Prefer Ollama, or your own key, if an unpublished book should not cross LiteStep. The privacy policy says Direct requests never do, and that self-hosted requests are not proxied. The provider you pick still has its own terms. The policy does not say whether that provider trains on the prompt.
- Treat "eight formats" and "PDF and DOCX" as a disagreement until you export. The product page lists eight. The store's free-features line lists two.
- Know what the trial becomes. After seven days, the terms say you can still read and export. Editing needs the license.
Strengths
- The Direct price is one number. $59, three Macs, version 1.x, a trial with no card, and a 30-day refund written in the terms.
- The model path is a choice. Your key, a local Ollama install, a server you run, or a hosted plan. The privacy policy separates those paths.
- The editor is not rented. The FAQ says worldbuilding and export work with no AI plan. On the App Store, that editor is the free download.
- You keep the manuscript. The terms say you retain ownership of what you create. They also say LiteStep does not claim ownership of AI-generated content, and that the provider's terms govern that output. A separate licence in the terms, for content you submit through the services, "does not apply to private manuscripts or documents created within our applications."
Writer's Toolbelt editorial scores
Writers Studio scorecard
7.2/10
- Story bible, as described8/10
- Continuity checking, as described7/10
- Control of where AI runs8/10
- Price clarity5/10
- Privacy, as written8/10
Weaknesses
- Hosted AI does not have one public price. The product page, the listing description, and the purchase list were all open on 5 November, and they do not match. A writer cannot tell from those three texts whether Pro is $19.99 or $29.99, or whether Premium at $49.99 is the plan the product page meant by $29.99.
- Continuity is described, not shown here. No quote-from-the-page standard is printed. A cross-book check is not described. What a small local model catches, versus a large hosted one, is not measured in this review.
- The export list depends on which official page you trust. Eight formats on the product page. PDF and DOCX on the store's free-features line.
- macOS 15 is the floor. The press kit, the pricing card, and the App Store listing agree. An older Mac is out.
- The age lines differ. The privacy policy says the services are not directed to children under 13. The App Store rating is 4+. Neither line is a country block.
- Family Sharing is not co-writing. It is on the App Store card. Shared editing is not described.
How it compares
- Writers Studio vs Novelcrafter. Novelcrafter is the bring-your-own-key codex in the browser, with a cheap tier that can be AI-free and with local models on higher plans. Writers Studio is the native Mac version of that shape: local files, your key or Ollama, and a one-time Direct license instead of a monthly seat. See the Novelcrafter review.
- Writers Studio vs Loreon. Loreon checks prose against a structured bible and charges prepaid credits, in the browser. Writers Studio describes a continuity pass inside the Mac app and does not publish a per-run price. See the Loreon review.
- Writers Studio vs Novela Studio. Novela is one license at $148, on the devices its page lists, and AI is your own key if you turn it on. Writers Studio's Direct license is $59 and is Mac-first, with a free App Store edition beside it. See the Novela Studio review.
- Writers Studio vs ProseEngine. ProseEngine is made by the person who runs this site. See the disclosure above. It is a fiction studio with a codex and scene generation, priced in euros, with a free plan. We are not scoring that matchup.
Feature comparison
Fiction workspaces at a glance
| Feature | Sudowrite | Novelcrafter | Loreon | LivingWriter | Unsloppy | Prosematter | Creader | AuthorFlows | Prospero | KudoWrite | Novela Studio | Writers Studio | Musael |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AI models included in the price | Yes30+ models plus Muse & Ballad | NoBring your own key | YesCredits pay for Anthropic API runs | YesIncluded; capped except on Pro + AI | YesHosted catalog; spent as Ink | YesCredits call the vendor's API providers | YesToken allowance on each plan | YesIncluded; routed through OpenRouter. Daily request cap: number not stated | YesFree open models included. Paid plans add stronger models. Daily caps | YesKudoAI credits included. Your own OpenRouter or Mistral key is optional | NoYour own Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, or OpenRouter key. Write-it-myself sends nothing. | PartlyDirect is bring-your-own-key. The App Store edition sells optional hosted AI. Ollama is local and does not use that allowance. | PartlyInk and Press include monthly credits routed through OpenRouter. Quill includes none. Extra credits are a separate purchase. |
| Bring your own API key | Not listed | YesHobbyist and up | Not listed | Not listed | Not listedPublic pages describe a hosted catalog | Not listedVendor names its own providers | PartlyDesktop bundle strings name DeepSeek, Kimi, or GLM keys in ai.env. The download page says local use needs no key. We did not install it. | NoNo bring-your-own-key on the public pages | NoNo bring-your-own-key on the public pages | YesOpenRouter or Mistral, from Settings. The FAQ says no markup | YesRequired only if you turn AI help on. | YesDirect edition, for OpenAI, Anthropic, or Gemini. The App Store edition uses a cloud proxy and does not ask for a key. | NoMusael's own checks do not ask for an API key. On Press, an MCP client such as Claude Code uses that client's own subscription. |
| Local models | Not listed | YesLocal AI support | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | NoDesktop page says Guardian's local rules run on the computer. A local model is not described. | NoNo local model on the public pages | NoNo local model on the public pages | Not listedNot described | Not listedNot described. | YesOllama on the Mac, and a self-hosted OpenAI-compatible server. | Not listedA local writing model is not described. Quill sends nothing to a model. Dictation can say On device, which is the browser's speech recognition. |
| Story bible / codex | YesStory Bible | YesCodex with progressions and relations | YesStructured canon the prose is checked against | PartlyElements board: people, places, objects | YesStory Canon; you approve each note | YesCodex for characters, places, objects | YesCharacters, places, timeline, and typed relationships, extracted from the prose | YesCharacter profiles, story map, timeline, and a Story Bible named on the pricing card | PartlyPrep phases: premise, characters, world, voice, outline. Not a queryable codex | YesUpdates when you commit a beat: characters, places, items, events | YesStory World: people, knowledge, places, objects, timeline, secrets. | YesEight entity types: characters, locations, items, events, organizations, races, magic, and lore. | YesCodex of characters, places, objects, and events, with relations and a timeline. Maps with pins are Ink and Press. |
| Series continuity | YesAll plans | YesShared codex across a series | YesCross-volume checks; one bible for a series | Not listedAppears-in tracking is per manuscript | PartlyPremium is pitched for a series; cross-book checks: check vendor site | YesHome page: book six keeps book-one decisions | Not listedDraft-against-canon checks; a cross-book series check is not in the sources we used | PartlyUnlimited stories, each with its own profile. No cross-book checker described | PartlyA continuity check is in the book tools. Studio advertises the strongest checker for it. A cross-book series check is not described | PartlyThe FAQ says chapter 30 is written with chapter 1. A cross-book series check is not described | Not listedThe page says chapter 23 stays true to chapter 2. A cross-book series check is not described. | PartlySeries can group manuscripts. Continuity checks are described across chapters. A cross-book series check is not described. | PartlyInk and Press can put several books in one project that shares a World. AI continuity is described across chapters. A single pass over every book in a series is not spelled out. |
| Editable prompts with preview | PartlyVia plugins | YesCustom prompts and prompt preview | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | PartlyReusable custom prompts; preview: check vendor site | Not listed | Not listed | PartlyYou can type your own refine instruction. A prompt library with preview is not described | PartlyYou can steer a beat and type a note. A prompt library with preview is not described | Not listedThree help levels per book. A prompt library with preview is not described. | Not listedA prompt library with preview is not described. | Not listedA prompt library with preview is not described. Musy shows the text, the answer language, and the credit price before a task is sent. |
| Editorial feedback tools | YesDev edits, line edits, beta reads (Professional+) | PartlyWorkshop chat; advanced review marked planned | YesFindings cite passages; not a copyedit | PartlyAI Analysis on paid plans | PartlyHumanizer and proposal review; not a dev edit | YesNamed AI editors on the draft | YesGuardian: continuity, prose, scene, suspense, and plot | YesStory Analyzer. The sample notes on the page are the vendor's illustration | PartlyAI-habit checker and refine buttons. Not a developmental edit | PartlySuggest Beat offers three next beats. A manuscript report is not described | PartlyScorecards for tired phrases. A plot audit is named. We did not run it. | PartlyA continuity checker for contradictions and timeline issues. A line edit or developmental report is not described. | YesInk and Press list scene review, a style pass, continuity across chapters, and a manuscript analysis. Quill has rule-based checks only. This review did not run them. |
| Plan without AI | No | YesScribe, $4/mo or $40/year | YesEditor is free; credits only for agent runs | NoEvery plan includes an AI allowance | NoFree still includes 36 Ink a day | YesEditor, imports, and exports are free | PartlyBrowser Free includes Guardian and 100K tokens. The desktop page says local writing and local Guardian rules need no AI key. | NoOne paid plan. A toggle can turn generation off. The price stays the same | YesFree plan, and a mode where you write every word. AI runs when you ask | PartlyYou type the raw beat. A separate no-AI price is not listed | YesWrite it myself includes templates, tracking, scorecards, and exports. | YesThe FAQ says the editor, worldbuilding, and export work without AI. Direct is $59 once. The App Store editor is free. | YesQuill is the writing and planning plan and sends nothing to a model. On 8 November 2026 it was $18.98 a month, or $15.98 a month billed yearly. |
| Team collaboration | Not listed | YesSpecialist plan | Not listed | YesComments and sharing; Free caps at 2 | Not listedTerms: stories stay private to the account | YesCo-writer cursors and margin comments | Not listed | NoTerms: accounts are for one person | PartlyBeta readers and messages. Studio is pitched for groups and classes. Shared editing is not described | NoShared editing is not described. Community Books is optional publishing | NoOne license, one person. | Not listedFamily Sharing is on the App Store card. Shared editing is not described. | YesEvery plan can invite an editor, commenter, or viewer. People who share the plan and its credits: 1 on Quill, up to 2 on Ink, up to 5 on Press. |
| Free trial, no card | YesTrial length not stated | Yes21 days | PartlyFree editor; welcome credits (amount: check vendor site) | Yes7 days on Pro and Pro + AI | YesFree tier, no card | Partly500 welcome credits; card requirement: check vendor site | YesFree plan, no card | NoNo free studio plan. A structure checker on the home page needs no account. Eight-day refund on a first payment | YesFree plan. Google sign-in. No card | Yes1 credit after email confirmation. The FAQ says about 10 simple rewrites. No card | No$148 once. No free plan on the product page. | YesDirect: 7 days, no account and no card, one Mac. App Store hosted-AI trials are on the listing; a card requirement for those: check the App Store. | NoNo free trial of your own book. A guided demo uses a sample story and does not start a subscription. Free browser tools need no account. |
Verdict
Writers Studio is a real Mac fiction app with a local manuscript, a story dashboard, and a model path you can keep off LiteStep's servers. Direct at $59, with a seven-day trial and no card, is the offer that is written the same way on the product page and in the terms.
The App Store edition is a free editor plus a hosted-AI menu that the vendor's own pages do not price consistently. Read the purchase list in the store, not only the $9.99 and $29.99 on the marketing card, before you subscribe. Do not treat the continuity claim as a test. This review did not run one.
The scores are a reading of that public offer.
FAQ
Is Writers Studio free? The Mac App Store edition is a free download. The product page and the terms say the editor, worldbuilding, and export work without a subscription. Local AI through Ollama is included. Hosted cloud AI on that edition is an in-app purchase. Direct is $59 once, after a seven-day trial that the terms say does not ask for a card.
How much does hosted AI cost? On 5 November 2026 the product page said $9.99 or $29.99 a month. The US App Store description said Basic at $9.99 a month for 400 credits, with a 3-day trial, and Pro at $29.99 a month for 800 credits, with a 7-day trial. The purchase list on that listing showed Basic monthly at $9.99, Pro monthly at $19.99, and Premium monthly at $49.99, plus annual prices and credit packs at $2.99, $5.99, and $9.99. Confirm the button in the App Store.
Does LiteStep train on the manuscript? The product page says the manuscript is not training data, and that Direct requests go to your provider and do not pass through LiteStep. The privacy policy, updated 4 September 2026, says the same about storage: Direct requests are not relayed or stored, and App Store cloud requests are not logged, aside from token counts. The policy does not say whether OpenAI, Anthropic, or Google train on the prompts they receive. Ollama runs on the Mac.
Who owns the draft? The terms say you retain full ownership of manuscripts and other content you create. LiteStep does not claim ownership of AI-generated content. That output is subject to the provider's terms. The terms' licence for material you submit through the services does not apply to private manuscripts in the app.
What does it run on? macOS 15 or later for the Mac app. Direct activates on up to 3 Macs. The US App Store listing also lists iPhone on iOS 17 or later, iPad on iPadOS 17 or later, and Apple Vision on visionOS 1 or later. The listing's language is English. Country blocks are not stated. Cloud AI, the 1.4.0 note says, may vary by plan, region, and provider.
Free guide
The 10 best free AI tools for writers
Join the Writer's Toolbelt newsletter for a short note when the shelves change, and get the free PDF guide.