After the draft exists
Novel Maestro
A whole-manuscript developmental reader for novels. It maps scenes, returns a first take on the free plan, and on the paid plan adds a report, diagnostics, and beta-reader notes. It says it does not write your prose. The price and the beta status disagree across official pages, so read the checkout before you pay.
Best for
Novelists who want a structural read of a finished draft and do not want the tool to rewrite the sentences.
Pricing
Freemium. On 27 October 2026 the pricing page showed Free at $0 (one novel, one whole-book read, no card) and Full Maestro at $79 once. The card says twelve months. The terms say purchases on or after 26 September 2026 do not expire. Further readings are $19 on the pricing footnote. The about page still says they are not taking payments yet.
Checked 27 October 2026. Plans move. The vendor's page wins an argument with this one.
Good to know
At a glance
- Availability
- not stated. The company is Large & Stoker Ltd in the United Kingdom. The terms say sales tax is added at checkout in some countries, including the United States and Canada.
- Platforms
- Web. The help centre says the deep guided tour is desktop-only. Mobile apps: not stated.
- Languages
- Preferences offer Automatic, American English, or British English spelling for newly generated text. Other manuscript languages: not stated.
- Launched
- New: launched Beta opened 20 September 2026
- Independent reviews
- No independent reviews found as of 27 October 2026.
- AI training and retention
- Privacy policy (September 2026) and the terms: manuscripts are never used to train models. Text goes to Anthropic and Google to produce the analysis, under paid API terms the company says do not allow training. A deleted novel is recoverable for 30 days, then purged. Deleting the account erases it at once.
New tools are checked again three months after the Checked date above.
In-depth review
Novel Maestro review
Last checked 27 October 2026 against the vendor's public pages. Prices and features change; check the vendor before you buy.
Disclosure: The person who runs Writer's Toolbelt also makes ProseEngine, an AI fiction-writing app that competes with Novel Maestro. This review sticks to verifiable facts and links its sources below.
Writer's Toolbelt review
Novel Maestro
A whole-book developmental read for a novel. It says it will not write the prose. The price and the about page do not tell the same story.
- free plan, one whole-book read
- Full Maestro, once, for one novel
- each further reading, pricing footnote
What it is
Novel Maestro, from Large & Stoker Ltd (England and Wales, company number 17448669), describes itself as a developmental editor that reads a whole novel and stays for the rewrite. The home page's line is "You write it. Novel Maestro reads it all." The about page is blunter about the boundary: not a writing generator, not a chatbot, not a grammar checker. The terms say every report is generated by AI models, that nothing is written or reviewed by a human editor before you see it, and that the analysis is opinion. Models can misread a deliberate choice, miss a pattern, or assert something that is not in the book.
The product is in beta. The changelog is headed "Since the beta opened · 20 September 2026." The public registration page is a form, not a waitlist: "Create your account to upload your manuscript. You'll have your first read back in about ten minutes," with Google or email, no card, and a line that your words are not used to train AI. That is a product the public can open.
The about page has not caught up with the pricing page. Under "Where we are now" it still says: "Because we're in beta, we aren't taking payments yet. If you have a finished manuscript ready for a read, you can join the beta." The pricing page, the terms, and the register form all describe a free account and a paid purchase through Paddle. Both pages were on the site on 27 October 2026. This review is not choosing which sentence the checkout will obey. Read the button before you pay.

Who it's for
- Novelists with a draft already in a file, including a rough one. The home page says it will read a manuscript halfway through or five drafts in. The help centre sets a floor of 5,000 words so the analysis has something to work with.
- Writers who want the notes pinned to a scene and who will keep or reject them themselves. The philosophy page says the tool diagnoses and does not write the cure.
- A weak fit for anyone who wanted the next paragraph generated, a grammar pass, or a nonfiction edit. Nothing on these pages is a citation manager or a marketing studio.
Key features in practice
The home page says one read is around 175 separate analyses, every scene on its own and every character arc across eight dimensions, in about ten minutes. The about page says 14 diagnostics and 106 genres across 8 families. The help centre says a typical novel takes five to ten minutes and that you can leave the page; they email when it is done.
- Maestro's First Take, on the free plan. The pricing card lists strengths and soft spots, "your one thing," and a first move, plus a chapter and scene map, the manuscript editor, Word export, 3 questions to Ask Maestro, and 60+ craft lessons. The help centre counts the craft library as 61 lessons across 16 areas and 10 structure models, and says that library does not require a paid plan or a finished read. The same help page says the free account covers one manuscript and one whole-book reading for the life of the account, not per project. Archiving a project does not free the slot. Deleting the manuscript frees the slot and does not give the reading back.
- A sample novel that is not your free read. The home page says you can open a sample with the analysis already done, and that exploring it does not consume the free read of your own book. The help centre says that copy does not count against the one-manuscript limit, cannot be re-read or replaced, and that regenerating the summary, blurb, synopsis, or query letter on it has a small lifetime allowance. The number is not stated.
- Full Maestro, the paid layer. The card adds an editorial letter, 14 visual diagnostics, 6 beta readers, unlimited Ask Maestro questions subject to fair use, a revision board, scene-level feedback, Word re-import, a submission-readiness check, and query, blurb, and synopsis exports. The footnote says the first reading is free, then two more as you revise, and that further readings are $19 each. What "fair use" counts: not stated.
- Import. The help centre accepts .docx, .txt, .md, .epub, .pdf, and pasted text, up to 25 MB, with a minimum of 5,000 words and a character ceiling it does not number. It says a .docx reads most accurately and that PDF conversion mangles words and paragraphs. You can also write in the editor. Export to Word is on both plans, the pricing page says, and writing, editing, and exporting stay free.
- Corrections stick forward. The help centre says you can mark a reading "not what I had in mind." That correction is kept and feeds the developmental report, the next read, and Ask Maestro. It does not rewrite the First Take you already have. Genre is detected; there is no genre picker. Your note sits beside the original reading.
- A second reading is not a fresh amnesia. The pricing page says each reading goes back to the whole novel, keeps what it concluded last time, and rewrites the report, the diagnostics, and the beta-reader notes from the draft it just read. The terms add limits without numbers: a ceiling, inside any rolling thirty days, on how many times a whole manuscript may be read again from the beginning, described as above what revising a novel needs (their most-read manuscript, they say, was read four times); a daily ceiling on revision reads; and a refusal to re-read a file that has not changed. You can overrule the "too small to be worth it" warning. The changelog of the open beta says a small measured change is now a reason to read the changed pages more closely, not less.
- It does not write the book. The terms say the service does not write, rewrite, or generate prose for your novel. The philosophy page repeats the line. Suggestions on the home page are framed as notes you can jump to in the manuscript. The vendor's own example, labeled as a test reading of The Great Gatsby, tells the writer what to add and names the scenes. That is their sample, not a promise about your book.

Pricing (checked 27 October 2026)
| Plan | Price on the card | What the card says you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0, no card | One novel, one deep read, First Take, editor, Word export, 3 questions, 60+ lessons, sample novel |
| Full Maestro | $79 once | The card says twelve months on one novel, plus the report, 14 diagnostics, 6 beta readers, unlimited questions subject to fair use |
| Further reading | $19 each | Pricing footnote, after the included reads |
Pricing at a glance
- FreeOne novel, one whole-book read, 3 questionsFree
- Full Maestro
$79 once for one novel
- Further reading
$19 each, after the included reads

The card and the contract do not use the same clock. The pricing page says "Twelve months of access" and "Launch price — this will rise." Section 8 of the terms says a purchase on or after 26 September 2026 does not expire: one payment, no renewal, nothing to cancel. "Permanent," the same section says, means for as long as Novel Maestro is generally available, not forever, and not for your other manuscripts. Purchases before that date were sold as twelve months; the terms say active ones had the expiry removed. Gift codes must be claimed within 365 days.
The about page still says they are not taking payments. The terms describe Paddle as the merchant of record and a refund if you write to support@novelmaestro.com within 14 days because the reading was wrong about the manuscript; they say they take that note at face value. UK and EU consumers also have the statutory 14-day cancellation right, which the terms say can be lost if you consent to digital supply starting immediately and acknowledge that you lose the right. Section 10 adds that some accounts hold free, time-limited beta access that is not a purchase.
Prices on the marketing page can exclude sales tax. The terms say that is true in some countries, including the United States and Canada, and that Paddle shows the tax before you pay. The pricing page text we read did not itself print a tax line. Check the checkout.
Using it as a writer
- Open the sample before you upload the book. The vendor says that tour does not spend the one free read. Use it to see whether the notes are the kind you can stand.
- Bring a .docx if you have one. The help centre says PDF conversion loses paragraphs. The minimum is 5,000 words.
- Spend the free First Take on a draft you will actually revise. Deleting the project does not return the reading.
- Correct the genre and the themes before you trust the later report. The help centre says those corrections feed forward and do not rewrite the first letter.
- Read the $79 card against section 8 of the terms, and against the about page, in that order, on the day you pay. Twelve months, no expiry, and "we aren't taking payments yet" were all on the site on 27 October 2026.
Strengths
- The boundary is in the terms, not only the slogan. No generated prose for the novel, and the editorial decisions stay yours.
- The manuscript stays yours. The terms say uploading transfers nothing: no ownership, no licence to publish, no share of what the book earns. Reports are yours to keep, quote, or ignore. They will not assert a copyright in the AI report, and they say a report may not be copyrightable everywhere. Similar problems in two books can produce similar analysis.
- A real free read of the whole file, not a sample chapter, with the one-read cap written down.
- Findings are supposed to point at a passage. The about page treats that as the reason to believe a machine at all.
- Training is a direct no. The privacy policy, updated September 2026, says the manuscript is never used to train models. It is sent to Anthropic and Google to produce the analysis, under paid API terms the policy says do not allow training. A deleted novel comes off the shelf at once and is recoverable for 30 days. Deleting the account erases everything with no recovery window.
Writer's Toolbelt editorial scores
Novel Maestro scorecard
7.2/10
- Whole-book reading8/10
- Evidence tied to the page8/10
- Price clarity4/10
- Leaves the prose alone9/10
- Fit for a revision7/10
Weaknesses
- Three official pages disagree about whether you can pay, and for how long. The about page says no payments during beta. The card says $79 for twelve months. The terms say a purchase on or after 26 September 2026 does not expire.
- Several caps have no number. Fair use on questions, the 30-day ceiling on full re-reads, the daily ceiling on revision reads, the character ceiling on import, and the sample's regeneration allowance.
- One free reading, for the life of the account. A bad upload spends it. Cancelling after the read is 15% underway uses it; cancelling earlier gives it back, the help centre says, and the app is supposed to tell you which.
- English spelling is the only language control we found. Preferences offer Automatic, American English, or British English for newly generated text. Other languages: not stated.
- It is in beta, and the terms say features may change while it is. No independent reviews were found as of 27 October 2026.
- Staff can ask you for a passage if a fault cannot be diagnosed from metadata. The privacy policy says they do not browse manuscripts as a routine, and that sending the words is your decision.
How it compares
- Novel Maestro vs Marlowe. Marlowe sells a report and does not rewrite the prose either. A single Marlowe Pro report was $29.95 on 27 October 2026, with a credit subscription if you want several. Novel Maestro's free tier is a whole-book first take, and the paid tier is a workspace you revise inside. See the Marlowe review.
- Novel Maestro vs Fictionary. Fictionary is a structure workspace on a subscription. Novel Maestro is a read of the manuscript you already wrote, then a revision board. See the Fictionary review.
- Novel Maestro vs AutoCrit. AutoCrit's reports compare a draft with genre patterns and include line-level checks. Novel Maestro's pitch is the editorial letter and the scene-linked tasks, not a score against a corpus. See the AutoCrit review.
- Novel Maestro vs ProseEngine. ProseEngine is made by the person who runs this site. See the disclosure above. It is a fiction studio with generation in the margin. Novel Maestro says it will not write the prose. We are not picking a winner. Compare the free tiers on a chapter you can afford to upload twice.
Feature comparison
Manuscript feedback tools compared
| Feature | AutoCrit | Fictionary | Marlowe | DeepL Write | Novel Maestro |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | YesOne whole-book read, lifetime of the account |
| Lowest listed paid price | Yes$15 | Yes$14 | Yes$13.25/mo annual ($19.95 monthly) | YesUS listing 16 Oct: $8.74. German page 23 Oct: Write add-on €6.99. Check vendor | Yes$79 once, then $19 a further read |
| All paid tiers have published prices | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | PartlyCard prints $79 and $19. About page says they are not taking payments yet. |
| Competes with ProseEngine (we disclose) | Yes | Yes | Yes | No | Yes |
Verdict
Novel Maestro is a public developmental reader with a hard line against generating the novel, a free whole-book first take, and a $79 card that does not match its own terms or its own about page. The registration form is live. The training promise is specific. The beta is not a secret.
Use the sample, then the one free read, on a .docx of a book you mean to revise. Do not buy the $79 until the checkout, section 8 of the terms, and the about page agree about whether a payment exists and when the access ends. If they still do not, the free First Take is the product you can actually judge.
FAQ
How much does Novel Maestro cost? On 27 October 2026 the pricing page showed Free at $0 and Full Maestro at $79 once for one novel. The card says twelve months. The terms say a purchase on or after 26 September 2026 does not expire. Further readings are $19 each on the pricing footnote. The about page says they are not taking payments yet. Check the checkout.
Is there a free plan? Yes. One manuscript and one whole-book reading for the life of the account, no card, plus the editor and Word export. A sample novel does not use that reading.
Does it write my novel? The terms and the philosophy page say no. It reads, diagnoses, and suggests. You decide what to change.
Does it train on my manuscript? The privacy policy and the terms say no. The text is sent to Anthropic and Google to produce the analysis, under API terms the company says forbid training.
What if the report is wrong? The terms say to email support@novelmaestro.com within 14 days of purchase, in a line, and they will arrange a refund through Paddle. They say they take that at face value. That sits beside the statutory cancellation right for UK and EU consumers, which has its own conditions in the terms.
Free guide
The 10 best free AI tools for writers
Join the Writer's Toolbelt newsletter for a short note when the shelves change, and get the free PDF guide.